6th Grade English

November 17-28, 2014

What's up Buttercup?

Remember that November 26th is an early dismissal day. Also there will be no school November 27-28. Enjoy a time with family and friends!

Also please note that this newsletter will take us up to Thanksgiving... the next edition will come out the first week of December!

"Vegetables are a must on a diet. I suggest carrot cake, zucchini bread, and pumpkin pie." ~Jim Davis

Reading this week focuses on identifying organizational patterns in text. In 6th grade we focus on Generalizations/Principle, Cause/Effect, Problem/Solution, Chronological/Sequence, and Compare/Contrast.


Our break out groups are divided by skill. Mrs. Jarboe is working with cause/effect. Ms. Entwisle is working on reviewing narrative elements. Especially that plot diagram! Mrs. Burton continues to work with main idea and supporting details.


Wednesday's break out groups are focused on nonfiction reading and skills. Students are reading articles at their reading level and using inferencing to help them answer questions about the text. Remember inferencing is one of our hardest and most needed skills as readers. Continue to work with your student at home.

"Be thankful for what you have; you'll end up having more. If you concentrate on what you don't have, you will never, ever have enough." ~Oprah Winfrey

Ms. Entwisle's class is writing a persuasive essay from the perspective of a turkey. They are disguising themselves and then persuading Ms. E. not to eat them for Thanksgiving.


Mrs. Jarboe's Journalism class continues to work on their next edition of the 6th Grade newspaper.


Mrs. Huddleston's writing group is working on finishing their research reports.

Article of the week DUE!

Friday, Nov. 21st, 9am

DMMS

Reading Logs DUE!

Monday, Nov. 24th, 9am

DMMS

Contact us... we're here for you!

Mrs. Amanda Burton, Ext 75244, burton@wps.k12.va.us

Mrs. Sherie Dearth, Ext 75232, dearth.sherie@wps.k12.va.us

Ms. Amy Entwisle, Ext 75179, entwisle@wps.k12.va.us

Ms. Beth Huddleston, Ext 75140, huddleston.b@wps.k12.va.us

Mrs. Ann Jarboe, Ext 75108, jarboe@wps.k12.va.us

Mrs. Ashley Phillips, Ext 75120, phillips@wps.k12.va.us

Mrs. Cynthia Smith, Ext 75101, smith@wps.k12.va.us