Stanwood Middle School

Family Update - December 18th, 2020

Big picture
Good Afternoon Stanwood Middle School Families!


We know our students are excited to be headed into Winter Break today!


We hope everyone has a restful time and enjoys some time away from school.


A couple of things for after the Winter Break:


Extra Help for Students

Following the Winter Break, our paraprofessionals will be holding extra office hours for students needing more help. We are emailing students we believe could benefit from some extra help from a paraprofessional on a Google Meet; if you would like your student to attend these office hours, please email Ms. Christmas at hchristmasharris@stanwood.wednet.edu


PTO & Leadership Soup Drive

Following the Winter Break, our PTO and Leadership class have organized a soup drive for the Stanwood Camano Food Bank. We will collect cans of soup every Friday between 8am-2pm in our drive through. We will come to your car and take your cans of soup each Friday in January. Also, we will count the cans for a battle between the classes.


We will resend this information the day before we get back from Winter Break. Our first day back will be Monday, January 4th, 2021.


Thank you and have a great break!!


Tod Klundt

Principal

Stanwood Middle School

Big picture

________________________________________________________________________________

A message from our Counselor Mrs. Fox!

Empathy & Virtual Calming Room


Hello Everyone! This week in our Wednesday Class Meetings, I shared a Character Strong lesson called “What’s Empathy?”


Empathy is that important ability to understand and connect with the feelings of another person. This comes naturally to some people, and for others it takes more practice. The great news is that empathy can be learned and practiced! Please see the pictures below to see how we learned about and practiced empathy this week. Students will continue to build on this lesson in January.


I also shared a Virtual Calming Room & Counseling Resources website that I created for students as another tool to navigate the big emotions and new experiences of the pandemic and distance learning. The site includes some calming tools, virtual museum tours, creative activities, and helpful resources. Students can access the Virtual Calming Room here once they are logged into their student account. Please also keep in mind the Resources listed on the SMS Counseling website in case you or someone you know needs some support during the holidays.


Sending Hope & Good Wishes to All!


Kara Fox
Counselor
Stanwood Middle School

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

____________________________________________________________________________________

Yearbook Information

Below is some very important information about our Stanwood Middle School Yearbook. Mr. Wall and the Yearbook Staff are working hard to make sure all students are in the Yearbook and need everyone's help to make this happen. Please make sure your student has this information, we've given it to them in a variety of ways, but want to make sure you are in the information loop as well. Thank you for your help!


Make sure your student gets in the SMS yearbook!


We are changing the way we do our yearbook pictures this year. Students are able to take a selfie and use it for their picture. We still hope to have school pictures later in the year, which can be used for their Yearbook picture, but this is a fun way for us embrace Distance Learning.


Please see more information below:


• Go to https://high5.id/p/qpq4m to take your picture. Make sure you have your student's ID number handy.

• You or your student will take their selfie portrait on your phone or computer webcam and upload.

• Photos are sent directly to our system and are used to create yearbook portraits and school IDs. This entire three-step process only takes a few seconds. If your photo is rejected for quality issues, you may be asked to retake and submit.


The deadline to receive all student portraits is Friday, December 18th.


Don’t forget to order this year’s historic yearbook before we run out! Your student will not want to miss out on all of the stories that are making this year so unique.


Buy today [online through the Stanwood Middle School website] for only $25.

Big picture

Teacher Office Hours and Email Addresses

Wednesday office hours (unless listed as a separate day/time!)

Teacher, office hour code, time


Mrs. Austin, austinofficehours, 9 to 10am

Mrs. Berg, berghelp, 9 to 10am

Mrs. Beuthien, gbss, 9:30 to 10:30am

Mr. Bliss, weeklybliss, 9:30 to 10:30am

Mrs. Bridenbaugh, bridenbaugh, 9 to 10am

Mrs. Brown, brownofficehour, 9 to 10am

Mrs. Diel, diel7help or diel8help, 8th is 9 to 9:30am and 7th is 9:30 to 10am

Mrs. Donovan, donovanhelp, 9:30 to 10:30am

Mr. Gelatt, gelattpe, 8:30 to 9:30am

Mr. Getzinger, getzingersms, 9:30 to 10:30am

Ms. Holum, cholum, 1:30 to 2:30pm

Ms. Kinker, kinker, 9 to 10am

Mr. Lukasik, lukasikscience, 9 to 10am

Mr. May, scoobydoo, 9:30 to 10:30am

Ms. Riker, riker, 9:30 to 10:30am

Mrs. Rockwood, rockwoodmusic, 8:30 to 9:30am

Mrs. Rose, rosescience, 9 to 10am

Mrs. ten Hoopen (Ruhaak), gonavy, 9 to 10am

Mr. Schonberg, schonbergela, 9 to 10am

Mrs. Shoemaker, shoehelp, 9:30 to 10:30am

Mrs. Shoemaker, shoehelp, Pre-Algebra Tuesday 9:30 to 10:30am

Mrs. Shoemaker, shoehelp, Algebra Friday 9:30 to 10:30am

Mrs. Hearn (Stuart), hearnhelp, 8:30 to 9:30am

Mrs. Stunz, stunzpe or stunzela, PE 8:30 to 9:30am and ELA 9 to 10am

Mrs. Thomas, thomashelp, 9:30 to 10:30am

Mrs. Thomas, thomashelp, Algebra Friday 9:30 to 10:30am

Mr. Wall, wallgocougs, 8:30 to 9:30am

__________________________________________________________


Also, here is our staff list with email addresses for quick reference in case you need to contact teachers:


AUSTIN saustin@stanwood.wednet.edu

BERG jberg@stanwood.wednet.edu

BEUTHIEN gbeuthien@stanwood.wednet.edu

BLISS pbliss@stanwood.wednet.edu

BRIDENBAUGH kbridenbaugh@stanwood.wednet.edu

BROWN, LBROWN@stanwood.wednet.edu

DIEL KDIEL@stanwood.wednet.edu

DONOVAN adonovan@stanwood.wednet.edu

GELATT DGELATT@stanwood.wednet.edu

GETZINGER JGETZINGER@stanwood.wednet.edu

HEARN (Stuart) BHEARN@stanwood.wednet.edu

HOLUM CHOLUM@stanwood.wednet.edu

KINKER bkinker@stanwood.wednet.edu

LUKASIK plukasik@stanwood.wednet.edu

MAY BMAY@stanwood.wednet.edu

RIKER mriker@stanwood.wednet.edu

ROCKWOOD MROCKWOOD@stanwood.wednet.edu

ROSE lrose@stanwood.wednet.edu

SCHONBERG jschonberg@stanwood.wednet.edu

SHOEMAKER KSHOEMAKER@stanwood.wednet.edu

STUNZ LSTUNZ@stanwood.wednet.edu

TEN HOOPEN (Ruhaak) mtenhoopen@stanwood.wednet.edu

THOMAS kthomas@stanwood.wednet.edu

WALL LWALL@stanwood.wednet.edu

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

The Stanwood-Camano School District does not discriminate in employment, programs, or activities on the basis of sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, veteran or military status, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding compliance and/or grievance procedures may be directed to the District's Title IX/Affirmative Action Officer and Civil Rights Compliance Coordinator, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), or the Section 504/American Disabilities Act Coordinator, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu) Stanwood-Camano School District, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Telephone: (360) 629-1200.



El Distrito Escolar de Stanwood-Camano School District no discrimina en sus programas o actividades por motivos de sexo, raza, credo, religión, color, origen nacional, edad, condición de veterano de guerra o grado militar, orientación sexual, expresión de género o identidad, discapacidad o uso de perro guía entrenado o animal de servicio, y ofrece igualdad de acceso a los Boy Scouts y a otros grupos de jóvenes especificados. El empleado mencionado a continuación ha sido designado para atender consultas y quejas de supuesta discriminación: Título IX / Oficial de Acción Afirmativa y Coordinador de Cumplimiento de Derechos Civiles, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), o la Sección 504 / Coordinador de la Ley de Discapacidades Estadounidenses, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu), Distrito Escolar Stanwood-Camano, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Teléfono: (360) 629- 1200