Mount Holly Elementary School

One Team, One Dream...February 15-19 Weekly Update

Think about it...

~The deepest wounds that schools inflict on students, are wounds of underestimation. We underestimate students when they come to us with skills and experiences that differ from the ones we expected and we conclude they're incapable of complex work.

~Low achieving students flourish whey they're exposed to high-levels of instruction.

Taken from What All Students Need from All Teachers
Carol Ann Tomlinson and Edwin Lou Javius

Please see the article below. It is very powerful and justifies our teaching practices in literacy and math. We are not only preparing students for assessments this year, but also to be life-long learners and to have successful futures.


http://www.nytimes.com/2016/02/09/us/sat-test-changes.html

Monday, February 15

  • Happy President's Day/No School

Tuesday, February 16

  • Ms. Fuller's class to Special Olympics
  • STAR Testing begins
  • No faculty/staff meeting

Wednesday, February 17

  • STAR Testing

Thursday, February 18

  • STAR Testing
  • Child Study
  • BINGO (5:30-8:00)

Friday, February 19

  • STAR Testing
  • Birthday Table (Outbreak Church)

Upcoming Dates

Monday, February 22
  • None
Tuesday, February 23
  • Specialist PLC Meetings
  • Faculty Meeting-2:45
Wednesday, February 24
  • Newsletter Goes Home
  • Dr. Pew visits from 10:30-12:30
Thursday, February 25
  • Reading Coaches Meet at Mount Holly
  • Terrific Kid Write-Ups Due
  • Child Study
Friday, February 26
  • Black History Parade-8:30
  • Club Friday