Africa's Endangered Animals

By: Drake Nguyen

Black Rhinoceros

The black rhinoceros (Diceros bicornis) is the most well known of the five living rhinoceros species, with its aggressive reputation and highly publicised international conservation drive. Black rhinoceros are in fact colour and are distinguished from the other African species (which is also grey) the white rhinoceros (Ceratotherium simum), by its pointed, prehensile upper lip; white rhinoceros have square lips (2). Both African rhinoceros species possess two horns, made from clumped fibres rather than bone, and the taller front horn may be 60 centimetres or longer

Why The Black Rhinoceros endanered??

Why are Black Rhinos Endangered? Rhino is species of African rhinoceros, along with the White rhino. Both of these rhinos are actually brownish-grey in colour so it is assumed that they got their names for some other reason although exactly what is unclear.There are four subspecies of the Black rhino which include the South-central of Tanzania, Zimbabwe, South Africa and Mozambique; the South-western living in Namibia, Angola, Botswana, and South Africa; the East African inhabiting primarily Tanzania; and the West African which some authorities state is now extinct in the wild.In 2006, none could be found in the wild and it is believed that only eight now exist in the world and all of those in captivity. In 2002 only 10 were counted in its native habitat so it is extremely likely that they are, indeed, extinct.

Some Pictures Of The Black Rhinoceros

Its Habbitat Area

Cameroon, Kenya, Ethiopia, Namibia, South Africa, Rwanda, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zimbabwe, Zambia (re-introduced), Botswana (re-introduced). Mostly areas in Tropical and Subtropical Grasslands, Savannas, and Shrublands; Deserts and Xeric Shrublands