Freshman Update

Class of 2024

Meet Your Counseling Team!

Chris Bell- Lead Counselor/ Counselor for Select Students cbell@ems-isd.net


Franchesca Fraire- Counselor for Students last names A-Di ffraire@ems-isd.net


Kelsie Ryba-Counselor for Students last names Dj-Le kryba@ems-isd.net


Jodi Trammell- Counselor for Students last names Lf-Ri jtrammell@ems-isd.net


Heather Wesolowski- Counselor for Students last names Rj-Z hwesolowski@ems-isd.net


Cynthia Kearney- Intervention Counselor ckearney@ems-isd.net


Virginia Guilbeau- College and Career Readiness Specialist vguilbeau@ems-isd.net

Big picture

Dear Freshman Parents

February 1st - February 8th counselors will be working with freshmen to review their graduation plans and sophomore course requests. We will be using Skyward to complete the course requests for the 2021-2022 school year. After the student has met with their counselor, their sophomore course request will still be available to be viewed in Skyward, but the courses will be locked. If an adjustment is needed the student or parents can contact their counselor and we will help to make those adjustments. All courses will be locked at the end of February. At that time, we will be using these requests to make the course master schedule for the 2021-2022 school year.



This year we will be calling students using TEAMS to review their 4-year plan. We have partnered with World Geography teachers and we will be working with specific classes each day. The schedule is below. If your student is remote or in-person they will need to be logged into their TEAMS account during their History period.


Monday 2/1: Ms. Wise Periods 1,2,3,6,7,8

Wednesday 2/3: Mr. Payne Periods 1,2,4,5,7,8

Thursday 2/4: Mr. Espinal Periods 1,2,7,8

Friday 2/5: Mr. Brown Period 5, 7

Monday 2/8: Mr. Mueller Periods 2,4,5,6



Below are some suggested topics to talk to your student about:

· How are their current classes going?

· Are there classes for the next school year that should be adjusted up or down in course rigor? For example, moving from AP English to on level English or moving from on level World History to AP US History.

· How are their current elective classes going? Are there courses that better match their interests?


Below are some resources that can help as you are having these conversations.

Career Plans: How To

Credits needed for Graduation

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

Following the Counseling Team

There are so many great things that happen at BHS. Here are some resources to keep up to date with what is happening in the Counseling Department.


Follow us on Twitter @BHSCounselorsTX

Big picture

We are using Remind to send out important information and reminders about upcoming events and deadlines. We have accounts set up for each grade level. Below you will find how to get added to the distribution list. Make sure to use the correct code for your graduating class. If you signed up last year, you do not need to sign up again.


Class of 2024 Text @bhscof2024 to 682.224.7495