Executive Branches

Jaiden Howe & Brittany Peacock

The Federal Executive Branch

The power of the federal Executive branch rests with President, currently Barack Obama. The job of the president is enforcing laws written by congress and appoint heads of federal agencies. There are 15 major departments in the executive branch:

  • Department of Agriculture
  • Department of Commerce
  • Department of Defense
  • Department of Education
  • Department of Energy
  • Department of Health & Human Services
  • Department of Homeland Security
  • Department of Housing & Urban Development
  • Department of Interior
  • Department of Justice
  • Department of Labor
  • Department of State
  • Department of Transportation
  • Department of Treasury
  • Department of Veterans Affairs

Maryland State Executive Branch

The Executive power rest with the governor who is currently Lawrence J. Hogan. The function is to implement and enforce Maryland's laws and provide executive direction to the government. He is the chief executive of the state and commander-in-chief of its military forces.

"The main focus of the Hogan administration is getting the state’s budget under control, eliminating waste and abuse in state government, providing tax relief to struggling Marylanders across the state, and bringing jobs and businesses back to the state."


The major departments of the governors executive council are:

  • secretary of state
  • secretary of aging
  • secretary of agriculture
  • secretary of budget/ management
  • secretary of commerce
  • secretary of disabilities
  • superintendent
  • secretary of the environment
  • secretary of general services
  • health/ mental hygiene
  • housing/ community department
  • human recourse
  • information of technology
  • juvenile services
  • labor, licensing, and regulation
  • natural resources
  • planning
  • public safety
  • state police

The Branches both do the same things, the only difference is on takes care of everyone and the other only takes care of their state