Judicial Branch

Module Six Lesson One Practice Activity

Different Levels of the Federal Court System

There are three main levels: District Courts, the Courts of Appeal, and the Supreme Court.


Types of Jurisdiction

Original Jurisdiction- the authority to hear the case for the first time
Appellate Jurisdiction- the authority to hear a case appealed from a lower court

Responsibilities at Each Level of teh Federal Court System

District Courts are where trials are held and lawsuits are begun.
The Courts of Appeal review decisions made in lower district courts.
The Supreme Court is the final judge in all cases involving law of Congress.