A look at the basic unit of all living things.

Big image


Cells are the basic unit of all living things. Today we will look at the animal kingdoms, Animal cells, Plant Cells, Prokaryotes, Eukaryotes, Bacteria, Viruses, and Protists. Now, lets look at cells!

Animal Cells VS. Plant Cells

Besides the fact that one is plant and one is animal the two cells are very similar. Both are multicellular and both are eukaryotes. The one visual difference are the shapes. Plant cells are shaped like rectangles and are packed together. Animal cells are shaped like spheres and are splattered all over the place.
Big image

Prokaryotes vs. Eukaryotes

A cell is classified by either being a prokaryote or a eukaryote. Prokaryotes DO NOT have a nucleus, But a eukaryote DOES have a nucleus. Prokaryotes consist of bacteria, viruses, and archaea. Eukaryotes consist of animals, plants, fungi, and protist


Bacteria is the simplest known life on earth. A bacteria cell does contain a cell wall around the cell membrane like a plant cell. Bacteria is the most common type of cell and is found in nearly every environment, including inside you! Bacteria has it's own special way to reproduce, it's called binary fission. Binary Fission is a process where the bacteria makes an exact copy of itself. This happens every twenty minutes so wash your hands kids. There are three main types of bacteria: producers, decomposers, and parasites. Producers make energy from the sunlight like plants. Decomposers break down nutrients from dead, dying, or decaying organisms. Parasites live inside or on a host and harm the host. These are the types of bacteria and what they do.

Fun Time!

"Why did they invite the mushroom to the party?"-----------------"Because he was a fungi!"


Viruses are very smart creatures. When one enters the air, say by cough or sneeze, they can only survive about ten minutes. However, when they enter your body, they look like a protein cell. When they arrive inside the cell, the outer layer falls off and the virus DNA goes into the nucleus. From there, the DNA is processed and the cell is forced to make copies of the virus until it dies. When the cell dies, it releases several exact copies of the virus into the air. That is how a virus works and expands.
Big image


Protists are all of the organisms that have a nucleus and are not in the animal, plant, or fungi kingdom. The main organisms that you will find in this kingdom is algae, protozoa, plankton, volvox, and seaweed. Protists absorb nutrients from their surroundings but they are not fungi. Warning! Remember that they are not fungi! That is what a protist is and how it gets nutrients.
Amoeba eats two paramecia (Amoeba's lunch)


Archaea is a group of non-nucleus holding organisms. They were even considered bacteria until they found they did not have a nucleus. They are basically the Prokaryote version of bacteria.

The Six Kingdoms

The six kingdoms are Plante, Animale, Fungi, Protista, Archaea, and Bacteria. Plante, Animale, and Fungi are Eukaryotes. While Protista, Archaea, and Bacteria are Prokaryotes. These are the broadest classification of an organism.
Big image


We hoped you learned something new today. Also we hope we didn't bore you to death. We like to give you one last piece of knowledge before we go... DON'T EAT YELLOW SNOW KIDS!!! Thanks and have a good day.