Points of Pride (Week of Jan. 28)

Alief ISD News and Recognitions

Alief ISD high school students qualified for Business Professionals of America (BPA) state competitions!

Congratulations to the following BPA state qualifiers:
  • Elsik - Ken Nguyen, Jermane Jackson, Jose Valdez, Motunrayo Taiwo and Tony Wan
  • Hastings - Layna Al Hasan, Michelle Cruz, Dalmath Kandolo, Dung Nguyen, Freda Edo, Kevin Larin, Khanh Nguyen, Lam Dang, Leina Casimir, Omar Jones, Quynh Hoang, Raul Perez, Ngoc (Ruby) Bui and Tai Diep
  • Taylor - Aysha Alam, Briza Bustos, Henry Jacobo, Lizbeth Martinez, Thang Dam, William Chavez, Xitlally Ruiz and Jennifer Zelaya

Kerr High School Speech and Debate students won first place in the UIL Cross-Examination Debate District Championship.

Mike Ly and Hannah Ghebrelul won first place in the district championship and advanced to state competitions. Kerr has had multiple teams advance in the past, but Ly (sophomore) and Ghebrelul (freshman) are the youngest by far.

Hastings Ninth Grade Center student Arte No and Youens Elementary School student Johan Jimenez's art were chosen by PBK Architects for the company's 2019 calendar.

The calendar was shared with participating school districts and PBK’s employees in the Greater Houston Area. This year, PBK received submissions from more than 10 school districts. The submissions were judged by PBK’s staff of design professionals.
Youens drawing

The Elsik High School Football Program will be honored as a finalist for the Houston Touchdown Club's Sportsmanship Award.

The teams selected for this honor are chosen by Houston-area football officials. The winner will be announced on January 30.

Alief ISD students swept the top spots at the Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) District Competition.

1st Place
  • 3D Animation - Trang Le, Thao Le and Steven Yeung (Kerr)
  • Accounting 2 - Diep Ly (Kerr)
  • Help Desk - Mary Vu (Kerr)
  • Impromptu Speaking - Salar Sanati (Kerr)
  • Introduction Into Public Speaking - Joshua Romero (Kerr)
  • Local Chapter Report - Mary Vu (Kerr)
  • Political Science - Aaron Wright (Kerr)
  • Publication Design - Patrick Dang, Kelvin Lee and Emily Vuong (Kerr)

2nd Place

  • Banking and Financial Systems - Andrew Winston-Jones and Samuel Orok (Kerr)
  • Computer Applications - Stephen Seleman (Hastings)
  • Help Desk - Camille Punzal (Kerr)
  • Insurance and Risk Management - Kim Tran (Kerr)
  • Personal Finance - Jenny Lin (AECHS)
  • Word Processing - Maria Vidal (Kerr)

3rd Place

  • Accounting 1 - Windy Vo (Kerr)
  • Accounting 2 - Tracy Van (Kerr)
  • Battle of the Chapter - Megan Hoang, Steven Phuong, Diep Ly and Aaron Wright (Kerr)
  • Broadcast Journalism - Crystal Okoh (Kerr)
  • Business Communications - Anita Natufe (Hastings)
  • Business Law - Megan Hoang (Kerr)
  • Computer Gaming Simulation - Elizabeth Luu (Kerr)
  • E-Business - Tametee Lam and Kim Nguyen (Kerr)
  • Graphic Design - Oritueweyinmi Keyatsemi and Jasymne Trishell (AECHS)
  • Insurance and Risk Management - Victoria Le (AECHS)

Hicks Elementary Students donated food items to a local pantry.

The Hicks Elementary School Student Council collected more than 5,400 non-perishable food items for My Brother's Keeper Outreach Center.

Congratulations to the following Alief ISD staff members, whose DonorsChoose.org projects were funded!

Want to share a Points of Pride with the Alief ISD Public Relations Department?

Email your Points of Pride submission to Tracy Lau at tylau@aliefisd.net.

Upcoming District Events