All About Mexico

Background information

The capital of Mexico is Mexico City. Four major countries are Itzapalapa, Ecatapec de Morelos, Guadalajara, and Puebla City.


Mexico was originally controlled by Spain. In the early 19th century Napoleon's occupation of Spain caused a Catholic priest to launch the Mexican war of Independence. Mexico gained independence on September 27,1821. Mexico is no longer controlled by another country and its official language is Spanish.

The Flag

The Mexican flag Is green, white, and red with an eagle in the middle.

Geographical information

Mexico is south of the United States, and north of South America. Three physical features are Cerro Postosí, Colima, and Laguna de Chapala. Cerro Postosí and Colima are both mountains and Laguna de Chapala is a lagoon.


The type of government that Mexico has is a Federal Republic. The president of Mexico is Enrique Peña Nieto.

Economic information

Mexico uses pesos as currency and has a capitalist government
Big image

Tourist information

When tourists go to Mexico they should see the Mayan pyramids, Mexico City, and Oaxaca. Tourists should participate in one of the many festivals held at Chiapas.

Interesting Facts

  1. Mexico introduced chocolate, chillies, and corn to the world.
  2. The official name of Mexico is Estados Unidos Mexicanos (United Mexican States.)
  3. Mexico City is slowly sinking. Since Mexico City was built on a lake it sinks about 15-20 centimeters a year.