Deretchin Digest

A Communication Tool for The Dragon Family and Community

Week of April 13-17 - Online Education Newsletter

A WORD FROM DR. REEVES...

Dear Dragon Family,


I hope you and your family had a great long weekend. Dr. Null will be starting our week off with a Facebook live at 6PM. If you've missed previous Facebook live chats, you can watch them on the Conroe ISD Facebook page.


Grades -- The district has been working on grading guidelines for the final 9 weeks of this school year. I want to remind you that the work that you're doing at home cannot will not in any way put your child at a disadvantage. As a result of Covid-19, no student will receive a grade lower than they made in the 3rd 9 weeks of this school year. To view the complete grading guidelines documents please see below. Don't hesitate to reach our to your child's teacher if you have any questions.


I want to remind you that the online learning is going to take some time to get used to. The most important thing you can do for your child is to have them read daily for 30 minutes. This can be with you, to a sibling, to a pet, to a grandparent on the phone or silently to themselves. Remember -- Don't Stress if you can't get it all done. We are all in this together, and we will ensure your child is successful as soon as we return to school. You guys are doing an incredible job!


If you have questions, you can email the generic email address at contactderetchin@conroeisd.net.


Thank you for the support that you've shown our teachers and staff. We are BLESSED to serve the Deretchin Family each day. We are praying for your safety during this time. Please let us know if we can support your family in any way. Stay Safe Dragons. -- Dr. Reeves

Big picture

4th Nine Weeks Grading Guidelines

Big picture
Big picture

*Report Cards for the 3rd 9 weeks can be viewed through your Parent Access Center Account.

*If your child is in Kindergarten, report cards were mailed this last week and should arrive to you soon.

Big picture
Big picture

This week, if you have extra time with your family, we encourage you to have your children fill out a Coronavirus Time Capsule. Years from now, children will be looking back at this time and discussing with their families the events that are currently taking place. Have your child fill out the following time capsule so they can share with their family what they were experiencing during this time.

Each teacher will host an hour of office hours during the day to answer directly to any grade level questions that you may have regarding your child's assignments. During these times, you will receive a direct answer back if you email the teacher listed below. If you choose to email your child's teacher instead of the teacher in office hours, you will still receive a response within 24 hours. We hope this helps you get the answers faster from teachers as they are all working together to create these assignments.


Please be sure to list your child's name in the subject line of the email as well as their homeroom teacher.


Kinder

Martin - 10:00-11:00 mmartin@conroeisd.net

Stanley - 11:00-12:00 jgraves@conroeisd.net

Neuenschwander - 12:00-1:00 cneuenschwander@conroeisd.net

Michalak - 1:00-2:00 amichalak@conroeisd.net


First Grade Office Hours:

Meyer- 9:00-10:00 cmeyer@conroeisd.net

Ross- 10:00-11:00 lross@conroeisd.net

Beck- 11:00-12:00 lbeck@conroeisd.net

Koehl-12:00-1:00 ekoehl@conroeisd.net

Juneau-1:00-2:00 sjuneau@conroeisd.net

Stauffer- 2:00-3:00 lstauffer@conroeisd.net


Second


9:00 - 10:00 Jill jwinters@conroeisd.net

10:00 - 11:00 Sally scaporale@conroeisd.net

11:00 - 12:00 Bailey brwagner@conroeisd.net

12:00 - 1:00 Amy awinters@conroeisd.net

1:00 - 2:00 Bacon lbacon@conroeisd.net


Third

Samantha Halbach, 9:00 - 10:00 shalbach@conroeisd.net

Davelyn Mills, 10:00 - 11:00 dmills@conroeisd.net

Clarissa Montgomery, 11:00 - 12:00 cgmontgomery@conroeisd.net

Shae Cleveland, 12:00 - 1:00 sscleveland@conroeisd.net

Kelly Benner, 1:00 - 2:00 kbenner@conroeisd.net

Nancy Rainbird, 2:00 - 3:00 nrainbird@conroeisd.net



Fourth

8:00- Andrea Mattingly amattingly@conroeisd.net

9:00- Hailey Duncan hduncan@conroeisd.net

10:00- Lori Falterman lfalterman@conroeisd.net

11:00- Kristin Garza kdgarza@conroeisd.net

12:00- Robyn White rrwhite@conroeisd.net

1:00- Ana Whaley awhaley@conroeisd.net


Fifth

Woodul - 8:00 mwoodul@conroeisd.net

Lindsey - 9:00 jlindsey@conroeisd.net

Gilmore - 10:00 cbgilmore@conroeisd.net

Woolson - 11:00 jwoolson@conroeisd.net

Renick - 12:00 mschatzrenick@conroeisd.net

Cheung - 1:00 acheung@conroeisd.net

Peduzzi - 2:00 rpeduzzi@conroeisd.net



Sixth

9:00-10:00 Lilly jalilly@conroeisd.net

10:00-11:00 Roz mroznovsky@conroeisd.net

11:00-12:00 Drilling mdrilling@conroeisd.net

12:00-1:00 Schoppe oschoppe@conroeisd.net

1:00-2:00 O’Donnell mnodonnell@conroeisd.net

2:00-3:00 Powell hpowell@conroeisd.net



Fine Arts/PE

8:00-9:00 Childs Choir/Music mchilds@conroeisd.net

9:00-10:00 Colschen Art ccolschen@conroeisd.net

10:00-11:00 Gibson Art diagibson@conroeisd.net

10:00-11:00 Shackelford Band/Music aeshackelford@conroeisd.net

11:00-12:00 Chernitsky PE mchernitsky@conroeisd.net

12:00-1:00 Parra PE tparra@conroeisd.net

1:00-2:00 Dillard Orchestra/Music smdillard@conroeisd.net

2:00-3:00 Shaw Band/Music kashaw@conroeisd.net

Video Conferencing Expectations

1. This is a classroom environment -- Please have kids sit up in an open space when on a call. Therefore, students should not be lying on their bed or in an enclosed space.

2. Conferences will be in small groups or whole class with the teacher. There will be no one on one conferences.

3. Dress code expectations are: Please dress appropriately for a classroom environment. Shirts with sleeves should be worn. No tank tops, No swimsuits, No tube tops, etc.

5. If there is inappropriate behavior from a child, the parent will be contacted.

6. All calls will be recorded.


Big picture

Please click on your child's grade level below and it will take you to this week's lesson plans.

Big picture

Pillar of the Month - RESILIENCE

Habit of the Week


Support each other when things are hard.

Someday it may be you who is in need.

"Flipping the Switch" Power Point Lesson

Resilience is something we all need - especially now! When your circumstances (including people!) get tough, remember we are building those Resilience muscles.


One strategy that I teach to students is the "Flip the Switch" visual metaphor. We may not be in control of many things.....but we are ALWAYS in control of our mindset and attitude.


Click on the link below for a power point lesson. Watch it with your family and try and answer some of the questions. How are you being RESILIENT today?

"The Greatest Hitter in the World"

values optimism

Parent Article

Big picture

Please visit the link below for additional book resources.

https://www.smore.com/xytqw