The Hunger Games

by Suzanne Collins

Big image

Will Katniss and/or Peeta win the Games? Find out in The Hunger Games!


The Hunger Games is about a 16-year-old girl, Katniss Everdeen, living in a coal-mining district being chosen to participate in the Hunger Games. She is joined by a male from her district, Peeta Mellark, and 22 other tributes to fight alongside each other, where there may only be one winner. That winner gets a supply of food to help feed their family. This Hunger Games, however, bends the non-existent rules a little bit, where there may be two winners, but only if they are from the same district. Katniss and Peeta have to team up to take out the remaining tributes, but will they make it out alive?
Big image


The Hunger Games takes place in a Dystopian environment in the future. Most of the book takes place inside the arena itself, but it is inside the nation of Panem, which rules over the fallen North America, Canada, and Mexico.


“...enthralling, imaginative and creepy...” - Los Angeles Times

"[A] plot-driven blend of suspense, science fiction, and romance." - USA Today

"...brilliantly plotted and perfectly paced..." - The New York Times, John Green

About the Author

Suzanne Collins was born on August 10, 1962 in Hartford, Connecticut. She is the youngest of four children. Her dad was a history teacher at college level, who was also in the Air Force and was sent to Vietnam. She started her career by writing scripts for television shows, and she was so good at it that one of the producers recommended that she start writing books. Some famous books she has written are The Hunger Games series, The Underland Chronicles, and Gregor the Overlander. She is married to actor Cap Pryor and together they have two kids. Currently, she resides in Connecticut.
Big image
Big image

Book Trailer

The Hunger Games Book Trailer by Suzanne Collins