The Feds And Their Powers

Who, What, When, Where, Why, and How

The Who

The federal government is composed of three branches

  1. Judicial
  2. Executive
  3. Legislative

The What (their powers)

The federal government has certain powers, such as

  • collecting taxes
  • Building roads
  • making and enforcing laws
  • and Establishing courts

The When

The Federal Reserve was created in 1913, by president Woodrow Wilson, on December 23

The Where

The Federal Reserve is located in Washington D.C.

The Why

It was created to proved the nation and its citizens with a safer, more flexible, and more stable financial system

The How (how it uses its powers)

The Feds use their power to raise or lower business rates, raise or lower the reserve, and to have open market operations.