The Seahawks Call

Week of September 21, 2020 Volume 3

Message from Principal Taylor

Milton Somers Virtual Open House will take place on Tuesday, September 22nd. An eblast will be sent on Tuesday with a pre-recorded LIVE video presentation from several V. I. P. at Somers. This presentation will address various procedures and policies like attendance, grading, and video cameras. The presentation will also dive a little deeper into the Code of Conduct and how behaviors will be enforced virtually. On Tuesday, all teachers will upload on their Class Website (in a separate book) a pre-recorded LIVE video presentation including classroom expectations, content being covered, how assignments will be submitted, and specific platforms that are frequently used (ie. Flipgrid, NearPod, etc.) You will have access to these presentations 24/7 so take your time to view every presentation on your child's schedule so you are well informed.

Message from our Librarian..................

September is Library Card Month. Charles County Public Library has made it easy for you to get one online so you and your students can access their virtual content. If your students are missing the feel of real books, CCPL is doing Curbside Pickup now where you can order books online and pick them up at your local branch. Here is a brief video showing how to get your library card.

CODE OF CONDUCT

Milton Somers would like to remind students and families that the Students’ Rights, Responsibilities, and Code of Conduct remain in effect while school is online. Now that students are logging into Synergy during virtual learning, we want to remind everyone that all messages, pictures, videos, and other images that are being posted must fall within the guidelines of the Code of Conduct.

SCHOOL SUPPORTS

ADMINISTRATIVE TEAM

Marlon Walker - 6th Grade VP - mwalker@ccboe.com

Cynthia Panizzi - 7th Grade VP - cpanizzi@ccboe.com

Wualanda Thenstead - 8th Grade VP - wthenstead@ccboe.com

Sonia Matthew - Administrative Asst. - smatthew@ccboe.com


COUNSELING SUPPORTS

Kenneth Tojek - 6th Grade Counselor - ktojek@ccboe.com

Nancy Franklin - 7th Grade Counselor - nfranklin@ccboe.com

Brittany Williams - 8th Grade Counselor - bwilliams@ccboe.com


INSTRUCTIONAL LEADERSHIP TEAM

Andrea Johnson - Reading Resource Teacher (Reading) - afjohnson@ccboe.com

Jennifer Branham - Instructional Resource Teacher (Math) - jbranham@ccboe.com

Suzanne Johnson - Learning Resource Teacher (Gifted Education and Testing Coordinator) - srjohnson@ccboe.com

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Kathy Kiessling, Title IX Coordinator and Section 504 Coordinator (students), or Nikial M. Majors, Section 504 Coordinator (employees/adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, Maryland 20646. 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.