Pradosh Vrat and Dates in 2016

Pradosh Vrat Importance

Pradosh Vrat

Pradosh Vrat or Vrata is the ritualistic fast observed to please Lord Shiva. Pradosham takes place two times in the lunar month as per the Hindu calendar.

Pradosh Vrat falls on the thirteenth day (Trayodashi) during the Sandhyakal of both Shukla Paksha (bright half) and Krishna Paksha (dark half). In 2016, Pradosh Vrat will be observed by the followers during this time.

What Does Pradosh Vrat Mean?

Pradosh is the dusk time and Pradosham is the propitious 3 hours period. Pradosham is divided into 2 equal parts, before and after the sunset. Vrat (Vrata) is fasting that may be include completely avoiding certain kinds of foods.

Pradosh Vrat: Different Types and their Benefits

1. Som Pradosha: When the vrat falls on a Monday it is called Som Pradosh. Every desire of Lord Shiva’s followers is fulfilled on this day.

2. Bhaum Pradosha: It falls on Tuesdays and the devotee gets relief from health issues.

3. Saumya Vaara Pradosha: When the vrat falls on a Wednesday it is called Saumya Vaara Pradosh. This day is for education, knowledge and progeny.

4. Guruvaara Pradosha: When the vrat falls on a Thursday it is called Guruvaara Pradosha. It is the day to receive blessings from Pitru or ancestors.

5. Bhrigu Vaara Pradosha: When the vrat falls on a Friday it is called Bhrigu Vaara Pradosha. This day removes negativity and attracts success.

6. Shani Pradosh: When the vrat falls on a Saturday it is called Shani Pradosha. It results in recovery of lost wealth and promotion in job.

7. Bhaanu Vaara Pradosha: When the vrat falls on a Sunday it is called Bhaanu Vaara Pradosha. This day should be prayed for peace and longevity.

There are different types of Pradoshams as per the days. They are observed either in the Krishna Paksha or the Shukla Paksha according to the Hindu calendar.

Given below are the Pradosh vrat dates and times for the year 2016.


07th January, Thursday --> Pradosh Vrat (K) --> 17:52 to 20:28

21st January, Thursday -->Pradosh Vrat (S)-->18:01 to 20:35

06th February, Saturday --> Shani Pradosh Vrat (K) -->18:09 to 20:42

20th February, Saturday --> Shani Pradosh Vrat (S) -->18:15 to 20:45

06th March, Sunday --> Pradosh Vrat (K) --> 18:20 to 20:47

20th March, Sunday--> Pradosh Vrat (S) --> 18:23 to 20:47

05th April, Tuesday --> Bhauma Pradosh Vrat (K) -->18:26 to 20:47

19th April, Tuesday --> Bhauma Pradosh Vrat (S) -->18:29 to 20:47

04th May, Wednesday --> Pradosh Vrat (K) --> 18:33 to 20:49

19th May, Thursday --> Pradosh Vrat (S) --> 18:38 to 20:52

02nd June, Thursday --> Pradosh Vrat (K) --> 18:43 to 20:55

17th June, Friday --> Pradosh Vrat (S) --> 18:48 to 20:59

02nd July, Saturday --> Shani Pradosh Vrat (K) -->18:50 to 21:02

17th July, Sunday --> Pradosh Vrat (S) -->18:50 to 21:02

31st July, Sunday --> Pradosh Vrat (K) --> 18:45 to 21:00

15th August, Monday --> Soma Pradosh Vrat (S) -->18:38 to 20:55

29th August, Monday --> Soma Pradosh Vrat (K) -->18:28 to 20:47

14th September, Wednesday --> Pradosh Vrat (S) --> 18:15 to 20:37

28th September, Wednesday --> Pradosh Vrat (K) --> 18:03 to 20:28

13th October, Thursday --> Pradosh Vrat (S) -->19:15 to 20:20

27th October, Thursday --> Pradosh Vrat (K) --> 17:43 to 20:13

12th November, Saturday --> Shani Pradosh Vrat (S) -->17:37 to 20:10

26th November, Saturday --> Shani Pradosh Vrat (K) -->17:35 to 20:11

11th December, Sunday --> Pradosh Vrat (S) --> 17:39 to 20:15

26th December, Monday --> Soma Pradosh Vrat (K) -->17:45 to 20:22

Author's Bio

Rajnish Nair is a writer on spiritual topics, Health and Wellness. He researches on spiritual items like Rudrakshas, Yantras, Parad Shivlings, and gemstones etc. In his free time he likes traveling to different religious places in India and learns about ancient traditions and rituals. He is currently exploring the science of 7 Chakras and Chakra Sadhana.