Welcome to Charlotte,NC

The Metropolis of Mecklenburg County

"Queen City"

Mecklenburg County is located in the Piedmont region of the diverse state. The bordering counties are Iredell, Cabarrus, Union, Lancaster, Yorks, Gaston, Catawba, and Lincoln County. Settlers chose the name Mecklenburg to gain favor with King George III of England whose, wife, Queen Charlotte was born in the German province of Mecklenburg. 1762 was when Mecklenburg County and its county seat, Charlotte were founded.

Do You Want To Be In the Know?

Then join the Board of Commissioners. With nine members the board elects members in November of even-numbered years. Then they elect a chairman and vice-chairman at their first meeting in December. Your job would be to adopt the annual County budget that is suggested by the county manager, set the County property tax rate, and assess and establish priorities on the many community needs, especially those related to health, education, welfare, mental health and the environment.

As a member of the board you can make appointments to citizen advisory committees.

Tourist Magnets

The city of Charlotte has many attractions including the theme park Carowinds, US National Whitewater Center, and the Carolina Panthers Stadium. One of the most outstanding attractions of Mecklenburg County is the Biltmore Estate, located in Asheville which was built in 1889-95. There are also natural landmarks like the Capps Hill Summit and the Derita Mineral Spring.

City Council

Brief Informaion on the Govenrment

The Mayor and City Council are elected every two years with no term limits. The Mayor is the official chairman of the city council. The council appoints the county manager.