MGM 6th Grade House News

October 12, 2018

Welcome!

Welcome to 6th Grade! Please read below for house news, upcoming assessments, and 6th-grade house highlights! These newsletters will be sent out every week on Friday!

Follow Us!

Please keep up with news and happenings at MGMS by following us on social media. Check us out at:


Facebook @mgmsgators

Twitter @mgmgators

Instagram @mgmgators

School website: mgms.lexington1.net

Teacher Contact Information

Please contact your child's teacher if you have any questions or concerns.

Administration

Dr Bill Coon - bcoon@lexington1.net

Dr. Kyle Meetze - kmeetze@lexington1.net

Jamie Powell-jpowell@lexington1.net

Alisa Long- aklong@lexington1.net


School Counseling

Laura Stockdell- lstockdell@lexington1.net


House Leader

Tracey West - twest@lexington1.net


Content Area Teachers:

ELA

Claire Calcina- ccalcina@lexington1.net

Mindy Matthews - mhmatthews@lexington1.net

Matt Bonte'- mbonte@lexington1.net

Social Studies

Courtney Garrison -cgarrison@lexington1.net

Ryan Miles - rmiles@lexington1.net

Sarah Huey-Clowney - shuey-clowney@lexington1.net

Science

Patrick Burnett- pburnett@lexington1.net

Sara Loper - sloper@lexington1.net

Dr Jessica Quinton - jquinton@lexington1.net

Math

Megan Freiburger - mfreiburger@lexington1.net

Amber Chavis- achavis@lexington1.net

Ashley Seats - aseats@lexington1.net

Tracey West-twest@lexington1.net


Encore Teachers

Drama - Rachel Cooper - rlcooper@lexington1.net

Orchestra - Jennifer Mann - jmann@lexington1.net

Dance - Megan Viazanko- mviazanko@lexington1.net

Dance - Kara Corley - kccorley@lexington1.net

Band - Melanie Winn- mwinn@lexinton1.net

Art - June Collins - jcollins@lexington1.net

Art - Beth Maddox - bmaddox@lexington1.net

Chorus - Augie Gil- agil@lexington1.net

STEM - Cliff Roberts - cjroberts@lexington1.net

ICIVICS - Melody Shafer - mshafer@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Phillip Thomas - pthomas@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Stephen Harmon - srharmon@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed- Abby Chisholm - achisholm@lexington1.net

PE - Candice Cobb - ccobb@lexington1.net

PE- Ben Anderson- rbanderson@lexington1.net

Chorus - Auggie Gil- agil@lexington1.net

Digital Design - Ryan Panter - rpanter@lexington1.net

Supplemental Math - Ann Bennett - abennett@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Susan Myrick - smyrick@lexington1.net

Math RTI - Trisha Hamilton - thamilton@lexington1.net

ELA RTI - Rayna Kleckley - rkleckley@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Jennifer Williams - jbwilliams@lexington1.net


World Language

Latin - Jessica Stolebarger - jstolebarger@lexington1.net

French - Erin Hamner - ehamner@lexington1.net

French - Cheikh Fall - cfall@lexington1.net

Chinese - Na Zhang - nzhang@lexington1.net

Chinese - Susan Wang - ywang@lexington1.net

Chinese-Natalie Lukity - nlukity@lexington1.net

Spanish - Samantha Simmons - ssimmons@lexington1.net

Spanish - Valentina Salomon msalomon@lexington1.net

Spanish- Manuel Vasquez mvasquez@lexington1.net

Book Fair

Could you please add a little blurb about the book fair coming next week October 8-17. The link for the online book fair where they can go ahead and start shopping is listed blow, as is information about eWallet where parents can put money on a tab for the kids.


https://bookfairs.scholastic.com/bookfairs/cptoolkit/homepage.do?

method=homepage&url=meadowglenmiddleschool1&appesp=CPT/ib/20120101///txtl/FairFindertoHomepage

Student Led Conferences-Date CHANGED

Student Led Conferences will take place on the afternoon of Thurs., Oct. 25th.


Your student's CREW Leader will be reaching out to you soon with to sign up for a time slot. We want you to come in with your child and hear him/her share of the learning experiences at MGM. The students are becoming great effective learners and have been working hard to prepare for this conference.

6TH GRADE UPCOMING ASSESSMENTS

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT ASSESSMENTS BELOW, PLEASE EMAIL YOUR CHILD'S TEACHER.
ELA: Monday, October 15th - Formative on Quote Sandwich comparing The Lightning Thief to "The Hero's Journey."



Thursday, October 18th - Summative on Quote Sandwich comparing The Lightning Thief to "The Hero's Journey."


MATH: Grade Level: Quiz on 3.6 & 3.7 on Wednesday, Oct. 17

Chapter 2/3 Test on Friday, Oct. 19


Accelerated: Chapter 2/3 Test on Tuesday, Oct. 16

Quiz on 3.8 (multiplying fractions) on Friday, Oct. 19


SCIENCE : Rube Goldberg Project due at the end of class on Tuesday, Oct. 16

Magnetism & Simple Machines Quiz will be on Wednesday, Oct. 17


SOCIAL STUDIES: Check Schoology


WORLD LANGUAGES: Please click on the following link for theworld language assessments. https://docs.google.com/document/d/1T-gYniUoXeNez_rKDfpl77_AgJ4mZbCYQfz56iXEfQ8

Science Field Study

Permission Forms will be coming home next week. Permission Forms will be due on Nov. 16th and checks need to be made out to Meadow Glen Middle School.

THANK YOU

MGMS Counseling Information

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B-xnH9PvyUElelFlTEJra19POC1WaDdGR0F6N3VFanFjY0RZ


Follow our counseling center on twitter @mgmcounseling.

PTO Information

Sign up using the link below to receive emails from MGMS PTO. We will share information about our meetings, events, volunteer opportunities and more! Register Here Please contact us at mgmsptogators@gmail.com if you have any questions.

Thank you for sharing your children with us each day!

WE ARE HAVING A FANTASTIC START TO THE 2018-19 SCHOOL YEAR!