The Dragon Review

April 2022

Principal's Announcement

April 2022


Hello Dragon Nation! I hope everyone had a relaxing and enjoyable Spring Break. This past month was highlighted by the Spring Musical and Career Day Event. I was incredibly proud of the BTHS Drama production of the Wizard of Oz. All facets of the performance were outstanding. The hard work, dedication, and talent were on full display as our students presented three outstanding performances. Bravo! Highlights from our Career Day can be found in the informational video included in the Dragon Review Newsletter. (See Below)


It should be noted that the Third Marking Period Report Cards were released for access on Thursday, April 14. We have now moved into the fourth and final marking period of the school year. I urge all students to continue to put forth their best effort and finish the year strong.


Looking ahead AP Testing begins on Monday, May 2 and will run through Wednesday, May 11. Students will receive information from their AP teachers and Guidance Counselors for schedule and room assignments. Moreover, on Monday, May 16 through Thursday, May 19 BTHS will be administering the NJSLA - ELA/Math test to students in Grade 9, as well as the NJSLA - Science test to students in Grade 11. To facilitate the test administration, we will be operating on an altered schedule on these days. Specific communication and information regarding these testing dates will be distributed directly to all parents in an upcoming communication blast.


Additionally, I would like to bring the following to the attention of our learning community:

  • On Tuesday, May 11, there will be the American Red Cross Blood Drive sponsored by the JROTC from 6:30 am - 12:00 pm in the Auxiliary Gym. You can sign-up on Tuesdays during A & C Lunches or see Mr. Pazmino in room 300 until May 10th. Please remember to eat before donating blood.

  • The Junior Prom will take place on Thursday, May 19 from 5 pm to 9 pm at Pat’s 30 Acres in Wall Township

  • Senior Scholarship Night, sponsored by our Guidance Department, is May 25, 2022 held at 6:00 pm in the BTHS Auditorium. Scholarships will be given from local donors and staff members to Seniors who applied.

  • The Senior Ball will take place on Thursday, June 2 from 5 pm to 9 pm at Jumping Brook Country Club.


I would like to conclude by expressing that Staff Appreciation Week begins on May 2. I believe Sidney Hook says it best, “Everyone who remembers his own education remembers teachers, not methods and techniques. The teacher is the heart of the educational system.” I am extremely grateful for the dedicated staff at BTHS, who support, guide, and mentor our students each and every day.


Respectfully,

David Kasyan, Ed.D.

Principal

School News

Campus Life


Hello Dragons!

Here is an update about what’s happening on campus here at BTHS. Acting for a Cause Senior Showcase will be held on May 5th in the BTHS Auditorium. All proceeds will be donated to a BTHS family in need. This is a fun and entertaining event put on by our students who participate in our school plays.Tickets will be sold at the door for $5. Our district Spike Night Volleyball Tournament will be hosted by the class of 2025. This event will take place on May 26th from 5-7pm in the LRMS gymnasium. There will be 6 teams competing for the title of Brick Township Volleyball champions. Teams include Brick Township High School Faculty/staff team, Winning team from BTHS Volleyball Night, Brick Township Police Department, LRMS Faculty/staff team, Brick Township All-star team, and Brick Township Public Schools Administration team!


Update! - Blood Drive Sponsored by BTHS Jr ROTC

On Wednesday, May 11, 2022, the BTHS JrROTC will host the American Red Cross Blood Drive from 6:30 am - 12:00 pm in the Auxilary Gym. You can sign-up on Tuesdays during A & C Lunches or see Mr. Pazmino in room 300 until May 10. Please remember to eat before donating blood.


The Regaler! School Magazine

LAST CALL for submissions for this year's publication of The Regaler! Submit any original poems, photos, or art work by Friday, April 29 by uploading to our Google Classroom (code shgtudl). Stay tuned for the 2022 release in late May!


Classroom Spotlight

There was a fight in the streets of Verona! Students in English I CP got into character to act out Act III, sc. i of Romeo and Juliet. Students were able to explore the power of Shakespeare's language and themes. Mercutio and Tybalt may have fallen, but lessons learned from their plights will live on. Students are recognized for their active engagement in Ms. Stansbury & Ms. Depoto's classroom. The excitement was palpable as students brought Shakespeare's text to life!

STEAM Tank Challenge

This spring the Sophomore STEM students competed in our inaugural STEAM Tank Challenge. Our students were tasked to reimagine and redesign New Jersey to ensure our state is sustainable, healthy, equitable and safe for everyone to live, work, and play. There were six teams in total competing from both BTHS and BMHS. Myles Laughlin, Madison Schleifer, Joshua Boyle, Anthony Thomas, Dominick Anthony from BTHS took second place with their creation of a Solar Powered Charging Station. Their concept is to provided stations in places that are more open such as parks and fields because in these places it is really hard to find a place that has access to electricity. The first place team also from BTHS designed a Metamorphing Wheelchair to help improve the quality of life for patients and their families. The winning team is comprised of Karlos Gordilo, Josephine Gondek, Alana Cinquegrana, & Sofia Gonzalez-Trelles.

Big picture

The Dragon Spotlight

Career Day at BTHS!

BTHS Career Day 2022

Congratulations Mr. Peter Panuska!

"Once a Dragon, Always a Dragon"

P Panuska

Athletics Update

The BTHS Indoor Guard and Drumline BOTH won their titles at Sunday’s championship at Jackson Liberty (4/24/22). The newly acquired banners are hanging up in the main office. See the championship picture below!


The JR ROTC program will be sponsoring a Blood Drive on Wednesday, May 11, 2022 in the Auxiliary Gym. This is a new rescheduled date from 3/31/22.


BMHS/BTHS PALS Clubs are hosting a Family Movie Night featuring Despicable Me 2, this Friday, April 29th, from 6:15pm-8:15pm in the BTHS Auditorium. Cost is $5 per family, and all proceeds go to the Special Olympics.


As for Spring Sports - BTHS is in full game mode. Softball (0-6),Baseball (1-8) and Boys Lacrosse (1-7) played during the Spring Break. The Boys Tennis team is sitting at a record of (2-3) with some important matches on the horizon! Hopefully the warmer weather will bring those wins!


Girls Track & Field competed at the Colts Neck Invitational. Kaydance Fischer took 1st in the Disc with a PR of 115-2 which qualified her for Nike Outdoor Nationals, Destinee Majett took 2nd in the Shot Put with a PR of 34-7, a personal record of over 2 feet and Caitlyn Chandler took 6th in the High Jump with a PR of 4-10 and was the top performing freshman in the event.


Boys Track & Field competed at the Colts Neck Invitational as well. The Boys Swedish Relay team of Colin Wilson, Chrstian Booker, Patrick Sacks and Trey Williams finished 6th. Both boys and girls teams will send relay teams to the Penn Relays at the end of April.


The Girls Lacrosse team is now 4-3. They suffered a tough loss (8-9) against TR South during the spring break and will have some important games coming up. They will play Jackson Memorial on 4/25/22.


The Golf Team has been playing very well! Derek Nahrwold placed first in the Ocean County Tournament and the entire team placed 3rd. That automatically qualifies them to play in the Shore Conference Golf Tournament on 4/27/22. We have one girl playing Golf this year - Maggie Thompson. She will compete in the Girls Shore Conference tournament on Monday, 4/25/22.


Continued Good Luck and success to all of our Spring Teams!


Schedules can be found at: shoreconferencenj.org -.click on Brick Township!


LET’S GO DRAGONS!

Big picture

April Students of the Month

BTHS Students of the Month - April

Students are nominated by BTHS staff members for outstanding effort in the classroom and positive contributions to our community. Congratulations to our Students of the Month. Students will be honored with a certificate, gift, and their names will be displayed on the marquee.


Kyle Kachoogian, Grade 9

Kyle has been an outstanding student. He is enthusiastic, self-motivated and respectful. He gets along well with his peers and is a pleasure to have in class. - Ms. Velez

Kyle is a great young man, he is a hard working individual with a great drive to succeed! - Mr. Smyth


Nijair Crudup, Grade 10

Nijair is a very nice young man, who works hard in all areas. Nijair currently has a 94% in science class. He was a member of the JV wrestling team this year and is currently playing on the boys tennis team. Nijair gets along with everyone and is always positive and respectful.

- Mrs. Merola


Ashely Castillo Zeledon, Grade 11

Incredibly helpful & willing to help communicate with ESL classmates, kind, polite, & extremely hard working. -Ms. Pankewicz


Skylar Piscope, Grade 12

Skylar is a very diligent student and goes beyond the classroom in her interest and learning. She continually recommends books and cases related to our forensic science class and has much to add to our learning environment and the atmosphere of our classroom. -Ms. Diamond

Student Government

BTHS Student Government

Stay connected and informed about BTHS happenings through SGA. If you haven't already done so, join the SGA Google Classroom (q2hav5z) and follow SGA on Twitter and Instagram (@bths_sga). Class elections will take place in May and students will only be able to vote through the SGA Google Classroom. Anyone is welcome to attend SGA general membership meetings; our next meeting is after school on Wednesday, April 13th in Cafe 2. See you there!

Class of 2022

Senior prom bids are being sold right now! Our fundraisers have concluded and it is time to plan our celebrations! We are wrapping up all the details for our seniors to have an amazing prom and also working on a senior breakfast and senior picnic for our students to commemorate 13 years of education! If you have any questions about any senior class activities please reach out to one of the advisors jfreedley@brickschools.org or mmustacchio@brickschools.org

Class of 2023

The Class of 2023 spent the month preparing for Junior Prom, which will be held Thursday, May 19th from 5-9pm at Pat's 30 Acres in Wall Township. We sold bids the week before Spring Break and we're looking forward to finalizing preparations. In addition, we had a fundraiser selling candy, which was successful due to the students' hard work! Please be sure to check out our Google Classroom (code: 4z3x6zp) for important updates.


If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Mrs. DeBonis (cdebonis@brickschools.org or room 306) or Ms. Scipione (dscipione@brickschools.org or room 202).

Class of 2024

Members of the Class of 2024 should join our Google Classroom with code ozvfp3p . Our Google Classroom is where we post all relevant information about our class and any upcoming event at BTHS! Currently we are planning for our Junior Prom and a Spring Fundraiser. If a member of the Class of 2024 would like to be involved, see Mr. Lucchetti in room 205 or Mrs. Ianniello in Guidance!

Class of 2025

The Class of 2025 is hoping to finish off the year strong with several fundraisers and activities they have planned. Make sure you are checking the google classroom for updates, events, volunteering opportunities and more. We really need the help and participation of all students to ensure the success of all of our events. We are excited to announce that we will be hosting this year's Brick Township Spike Night Volleyball Tournament on May 26th from 5-7 pm in the Lake Riviera Middle School gymnasium. Volleyball teams will consist of Brick Township High School Faculty/staff team, Winning team from BTHS Volleyball Night, Brick Township Police Department, LRMS Faculty/staff team, Brick Township All-star team, and Brick Township Public Schools Administration team. Please come out and show your support. Email Mrs. Vélez at mvelez@brickschools.org or Mr. Pazmino at cpazmino@brickschools.org if you have any questions.

Stay In the Know

Guidance Department

Hello BTHS,


The Guidance Department hosted a successful Career Day on Tuesday, April 5. Professionals from various categories; Law, Healthcare, Business, Technology, Visual/Performing Arts, vocational/technical presented to our students about their profession and shared their insight about their career. There were over 50 presenters from our community and 400 students who participated in this event. BTHS also hosted the Director of Admissions from the American Institute who gave a brief presentation to our 12th grade students about the various career training programs available in NJ and CT. The American Institute offers programs in Electricity Trades, Diagnostic Medical Sonography, Medical Assistant, Dental Assistant, Massage Therapy, English as a Second Language, Medical Coding and Nurse's Aide.


Additionally, the BTHS Student Assistance Counselor, Lori Roland, presented to Mrs. Trani's LRMS health class. The focus of the program was to bring attention and awareness to marijuana prevention. Risk and protective factors were discussed as were the effects of THC on the developing adolescent brain. The presentation was well received as students were engaged and attentive. Policy was explained as were current drug trends; the popularity of incendiary devices was also a focal point. It is important to begin prevention education with regard to substance use/abuse at a young age and outreach programs like this form connections and teachable moments that students can take with them as they enter their high school years. The collaboration with Ms. Roland and Mrs. Trani was successful in presenting valuable information to our future Dragons. (See Picture Below)


School Counseling Department Notes of Interest:


  1. The ASVAB was administered to some of our juniors and seniors on April 12th.
  2. Ocean County College Express Enrollment Day for students attending OCC in the Fall 2022 will be on April 28th. Students will be meeting with college advisors to create a schedule for the 1st semester of college, as well as receive a tour of the campus.
  3. Attention Seniors! Please continue to apply for Scholarships. New scholarships are regularly posted, therefore it would be beneficial to regularly access the attached link. We hope that all of our seniors take full advantage of these opportunities. Click HERE to view the available Scholarship opportunities.


Please do not hesitate to reach out to your counselor for support. Our department is readily available to assist in any of your academic, social, or emotional needs.


Thank You,

Angela Smith

BTHS Guidance Coordinator


School Counselor Google Classroom Codes

Class of 2025 cpgycc4

Class of 2024 bbnv4vs

Class of 2023 vzgx2iq

Class of 2022 qgqsw3m
Big picture

Health Office Message

Hello BTHS Students and Parents!


Spring has arrived!, and with it brings that time of year when trees reemerge from their hibernation, and Summer sees the rise of many grasses - for those of us who suffer from seasonal allergies, the coughing, sneezing, sore throat, runny or stuffy nose (usually with clear or pale-colored mucus), itchy eyes, are very well known to most. The seasonal pollen counts are high and allergies are flaring up in earnest due to another extremely wet winter in our area. A seasonal allergy is a type of allergic reaction that manifests symptoms which develop during certain seasons and are caused by your immune system overreacting to something in the environment, the biggest culprit being Pollen. This is sometimes referred to as Allergic Rhinitis or “Hay Fever” (source: Allergy & Asthma Network- Seasonal Allergies: Symptoms, Peak Times and Management).


Remember, there is no “official” start or beginning to allergy season though - it is very individualistic, depending on what actually is the culprit at hand which triggers your allergy symptoms, during which months. As mentioned, in Spring trees will be the first and foremost for releasing their pollen, in Summer grasses (or “hay”) will flourish and cause your allergies to exacerbate, and even the Fall will bring the release of Ragweed which may be your allergy trigger. Lastly, if molds, pet dander, dust mites and other indoor allergens are your allergy triggers then you may see the peak of your seasonal allergies all year long, inclusive of the Winter months - this is the key to understanding when your symptoms normally begin and will help you better determine what may trigger your allergic reactions. Within the United States, May is typically considered the worst month due to the plethora of allergens occurring in the air, mostly in the form of these elevated pollen counts.


Please remember that our Health Offices here at BTHS - along with all our schools in the district - can administer both OTC Medications and any Prescribed Pharmaceutical Medications on your child’s behalf with the necessary Medical Authorization from your Primary Care Physician. Attached is our District’s Medication Authorization Form below - please feel free to print off and have your MD fill in, along with parent signature required as well. Once completed, it can be hand delivered or faxed to our Health Offices. Please keep in mind any prescription medications ordered must be dropped off to the school building by the student’s parent or guardian, and any OTC medications must be purchased New and Remain Unopened prior to presenting to the Health Offices for the School Nurses to dispense. Medication orders submitted are valid for the current school year they are written for, with new forms completed for each following school year.


BTSD Medication Authorization Form - Permission to Medicate


We’re here to help keep your student well throughout the day while attending their daily classes!


Respectfully,

Nurse Tammy Yarbrough & Nurse Mary Carlsson


Health Office Contact

West Nurse Office - Mary Carlsson Ext. 2037

East Nurse Office - Tammy Yarbrough Ext. 2009

Join the BTHS - Parent Teacher Student Association

The BTHS Parent Teacher Student Association is accepting membership for the 2021-2022 school year. Please consider joining the Brick Township High School PTSA.


LINK to Memberhub


Please direct any questions to our PTSA President Mrs. Maria Velez at mvelez@brickschools.org


The PTSA is looking forward to the next opportunity to collaborate with our school community. A meeting link will be sent out to all parents and PTSA members the week prior to our next PTSA meeting.

Big picture
Big picture

Brick Township High School

Principal

David Kasyan


Assistant Principals

Erin Biancella - Grade 12 & Freshman P-Z

Ryan Hesnan - Grade 11 & Freshman H-O

James Marvin - Grade 10 & Freshman A-G


Athletic Director & Co-Curricular Supervisor

Peter Panuska


Guidance Department

Lauren Ianniello - Grade 9 A-L

Angela Smith - Grade 9 M-Z

Jennie Piwowarczyk - Grade 10-12 A-De

Kaitlyn Donahue - Grade 10-12 Di-K

Dawn Celona - Grade 10-12 L-Ri

Marie Walling - Grade 10-12 Ro-Z


Student Assistance Counselor

Lori Roland


Child Study Team

Janet Maciel

Antoinette Sirico

Christine Velardi

Mike Zuccaro