Cell cycle and Mitosis

By Garrett and Grant Sims

Cell Cycle

The cell cycle is a repeating sequence of celluar growth and division.

There are 5 phases.

  1. G1 (first growth sequence)
  2. S (Synthesis phase)
  3. G2 (second growth phase)
  4. Mitosis (division of nucleus)
  5. Cytokinesis (division of cytoplasm)
G1, S, and G2 are interphase. Interphase is the busiest phase of the cell cycle.


Mitosis is the division of nucleus form two nuclei, each obtaining a complete set of the cell's chromosomes.

There are 5 stages of Mitosis. Prophase, metaphase, anaphase, telophase, cytokinesis.

1. Prophase: spindles formed by microtubules.

2. Metaphase: Centromeres convene along metaphase plate.

3. Anaphase: Sister chromatid split and move to opposite sides of the cell

4. Telophase: new nuclear envelope is formed using parts of the parent cells nuclear membrane.

5. Interphase:chromosomes duplicate and the copies remain attached to eachother.