Counselor's Corner Newsletter

Navigating time at home

The extended time families are spending together due to practicing Social Distancing can be challenging. Included in this newsletter are articles from the Somerville School District's counselors who have shared their research and experience in each article. These articles are geared for parents and caregivers to help manage elementary schooler's behaviors, to help communicating with middle schoolers, and to help in managing screen-time in general.


The Somerville School District's Counselors hope you all are well! Please continue to check The Counselor's Corner for periodic updates.



For parents/caregivers with elementary age children:



https://docs.google.com/document/d/1P3L1fupM403N2lqSkDmhg35fza-lL6-IV4D3qa4B34w/edit?usp=sharing



For parents/caregivers with middle school age children:


https://docs.google.com/document/d/1t8HYRgRO8aF_bbqUKfW-kaWJ-hLF5yK1pZ4BxP_ttGw/edit?usp=sharing



For parents/caregivers with concerns about managing screen-time:


https://docs.google.com/document/d/1NubRVbaSpJp3FDtkcQ_5yeOWWsyXrw7ErVgk8fJruO0/edit?usp=sharing

SCHOOL-BASED MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES


VAN DERVEER SCHOOL


Dr. Dana Marrocco - dmarrocco@somervilleschools.org

Ms. Paige Agnello - pagnello@somervilleschools.org


Somerville Middle School

Dr. Ellie Sroczynski - hsroczynski@somervilleschools.org


Somerville High School

Mrs. Ashley Joshi - ajoshi@somervilleschools.org

Mr. Douglas Graiver - dgraiver@somervilleschools.org

Dr. Ellyn Stein (M.A.P.S. Program) - estein@somervilleschools.org


District Director of Special Services

Dr. Tanya McDonald - tmcdonald@somervilleschools.org



If you or someone you know is in immediate need of mental health support, please call 9-1-1 and/ or refer to the flyer below of hotlines and services provided by the NJ Department of Children and Families.

Big picture