States Of Consciousness

ashley salazar


Consciousness refers to our subjective awareness of the world around us, our perceptions and internal thoughts. Topics in this area include sleep, dreams, hypnosis, medication and psychoactive drugs. Consciousness is your awareness of yourself and your environment. Some different aspects of consciousness include sleep, dreams, hypnosis and meditation.

levels of consciousness

1. the state of waking consciousness
2. deep sleep
3. dreaming
4. transcendental consciousness
5. cosmic consciousness
6. god consciousness
7. unity consciousness

The first three states — waking consciousness, deep sleep and the dreaming state of sleep — are known to every adult human being with a functional nervous system.

The last four levels — transcendental, cosmic, god and unity consciousness — are usually not available right away. These states become accessible only as one engages in regular practice of meditation.