The Seahawks Call

Week of January 25, 2021 Volume 18

Big picture

Message from Principal Taylor......................................

IMPORTANT DATES TO REMEMBER:

JANUARY 25 - Grade Recovery Math Assessment

JANUARY 27 - Second Marking Period Ends

JANUARY 28 - Third Marking Period Begins

JANUARY 29 - Semester Break – NO SCHOOL FOR STUDENTS

The Board of Education of Charles County is looking for applications from county residents interested in serving on the Charles County Board of Education Ethics Panel. There is one opening on the five-member panel, and the selected applicant will finish out a term that expires on July 1, 2022.


The Charles County Arts Alliance (CCAA)Arts Teacher of the Year Award is a new program honoring an elementary, middle and high school teacher who exemplifies excellence in arts education. The program honors three Charles County’s arts educators with recognition and financial support for guiding students while navigating circumstances brought on by the pandemic. Nominations may be self-submitted, by the teacher’s current or former students, parents of the students, the teacher’s professional colleagues or a school administrator. To fill out a nomination form, go to https://forms.gle/ZpUh3iMf7SbvCe898. The deadline to submit a nomination is Feb. 5.


The annual CCPS art show highlights the work students put into creative pursuits. While it couldn’t be held in person this year, the art show must go on with CCPS staff coordinating a virtual art show for students. Student artwork is on display in the Virtual Art Show. There is an elementary, middle and high school gallery.

Congratulations Eli Stevens! Our Carson Scholar Nominee!

Eli Stevens is an 8th grader with a 4.0 GPA and significant community service.


Click here to read more about Carson Scholars!

https://carsonscholars.org/scholarships/
Big picture

Library News from Ms. H-J!

Our Somers Seahawks have been rocking the Winter Reading Challenge! This week our Seahawks met their 40,000 minutes read goal and so we added a new challenge – to read 15,000 more minutes before January 31! Parents, keep encouraging your students to log in to Beanstack and record those minutes! Go Seahawks!!!!!!


Curbside Pickup will be Tuesday, January 26th between 12 and 1 p.m. Students will find directions on how to place Curbside Pickup Holds on our Library website. Students can access their Destiny Library accounts through Office 365.

Big picture

PTSO Executive Board Members

President: Dawn Shafer

Vice-President: Melissa Morris

Secretary: Sherri Williams

Treasurer: Brenda Washington


Contact us at miltonsomersmsptso@gmail.com

Facebook: Milton Somers Middle School PTSO

Twitter: @SomersPTSO

Instagram: SomersPTSO

SCHOOL SUPPORTS

ADMINISTRATIVE TEAM

Marlon Walker - 6th Grade VP - mwalker@ccboe.com

Cynthia Panizzi - 7th Grade VP - cpanizzi@ccboe.com

Wualanda Thenstead - 8th Grade VP - wthenstead@ccboe.com

Sonia Matthew - Administrative Asst. - smatthew@ccboe.com


COUNSELING SUPPORTS

Kenneth Tojek - 6th Grade Counselor - ktojek@ccboe.com

Nancy Franklin - 7th Grade Counselor - nfranklin@ccboe.com

Brittany Williams - 8th Grade Counselor - bwilliams@ccboe.com


INSTRUCTIONAL LEADERSHIP TEAM

Andrea Johnson - Reading Resource Teacher (Reading) - afjohnson@ccboe.com

Jennifer Branham - Instructional Resource Teacher (Math) - jbranham@ccboe.com

Suzanne Johnson - Learning Resource Teacher (Gifted Education and Testing Coordinator) - srjohnson@ccboe.com

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Kathy Kiessling, Title IX Coordinator and Section 504 Coordinator (students), or Nikial M. Majors, Section 504 Coordinator (employees/adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, Maryland 20646. 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.