Daily News of the 1700's

Kyra Caldwell

Articles of Confederation

This document is the nation's very first constitution. The document is limited in power. This is because states held most of the power, and congress lacked the power to tax, control coinage, or regulate trade. It was adopted by the second continental congress during the revolution. Adopted by the Continental Congress on November 15, 1777.

Separation of Powers

The constitutional principle that limits the powers vested in any person or institution. This divides the government authority into three branches. Legislative, Executive, and Judicial are the three branches. Division of government responsibilities into distinct branches to limit each of the branches from controlling functions of another. The intent is to prevent concentration of power and provide for checks and balances.

Three Branches of Government

The constitution provides a separation of powers which formed the three branches of government. The three branches are Legislative, Executive, and Judicial.
  • Legislative
-Makes the laws

-Congress, national legislative body of a country

-Senate, 2 per state (100 total).

-House of Representatives, based on each state's population (435 total).

  • Executive
-Carries out laws


-Vice president

-Cabinet, nominated by president and approved by Senate.

  • Judicial
-Supreme Court, 9 justices nominated by the president and must be approved by Senate.

-Other Federal Courts