Pathways to Excellence

A Monthly Newsletter from Shelby County Schools

January 2022

Happy New Year! January brought several things to celebrate including our wonderful Board of Education members for School Board Appreciation Month, Dr. Larry Haynes being named Middle School Principal of the Year, and Dr. Lewis Brooks being inducted into the University of Montevallo Athletics Hall of Fame.
Big picture

Thank you Shelby County Schools Board of Education

Thank you to our Shelby County Schools Board of Education members for working so hard to plant the seeds of success for our students. Aubrey Miller, David Bobo, Jane Hampton, Jimmy Bice, and Peg Hill do an incredible job on behalf of our school district and they are very much appreciated!
Big picture

Dr. Larry Haynes Named Middle School Principal of the Year for Alabama

Dr. Larry Haynes, principal at Oak Mountain Middle School, has been named Middle School Principal of the Year by the Alabama Association of Middle School Principals, an affiliate organization of the Council for Leaders in Alabama Schools (CLAS).

Dr. Haynes was surprised at OMMS with the announcement by Vic Wilson, Executive Director of CLAS; Katrina Akers, Legal Services Coordinator with CLAS; Dan Chappell, with Interior Elements; Dr. Lewis Brooks, Superintendent for Shelby County Schools; board members Jimmy Bice and Jane Hampton; and several district leaders. Haynes had previously been named the Principal of the Year for District 5 and was one of three finalists for the state award.

"I am extremely proud that this honor is being bestowed upon my long-time colleague and friend, Dr. Larry Haynes," said Dr. Brooks. "Dr. Haynes is a dedicated professional who is committed to serving his school and community. There is no one that I know of that has a bigger heart for people."

Haynes has served as principal at OMMS since 2004. His leadership has been unwavering through good times and bad, including the past two years during the COVID-19 pandemic and when the OMMS facility suffered significant damage in the March 2021 tornado.

"As a long-serving teacher and administrator, this opportunity is both exciting and humbling. However, this recognition is not about me," said Dr. Haynes. "My colleagues now and throughout my service at Oak Mountain Middle School are the difference makers who have made OMMS an exceptional place to be. Any recognition for me is the result of the teachers and staff members who have worked together as a team and a family, now and since 2004, to provide the absolute best for our students."

"Supportive parents, amazing students, community partners, and a tremendous vision and guidance from Dr. Brooks and the staff at the Shelby County Board of Education have also played a vital role in the success of our school throughout my tenure," Haynes continued. "I cannot adequately put the right words together to fully express my sincerest appreciation to the entire Oak Mountain community. I have been blessed beyond measure throughout my career."

The Middle School Principal of the Year Award is sponsored by the Alabama Association of Secondary School Principals (AASSP), the Alabama Association of Middle School Principals (AAMSP), the Alabama Association of Elementary School Administrators (AAESA), and the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP). The business sponsor of the award is Horace Mann.

It is the second year in a row for a Shelby County Schools administrator to win the award. Caroline Obert won Middle School Principal of the Year last year while serving as principal of Chelsea Middle School. Obert now serves as principal of Huntsville Junior High.

Big picture

Dr. Lewis Brooks Inducted into University of Montevallo Sports Hall of Fame

Congratulations to Dr. Lewis Brooks for being inducted into the University of Montevallo Athletics Hall of Fame. Dr. Brooks, a former standout basketball player for the Falcons, joined five other nominees who were also honored as inductees at a special event held Friday, January 28th at the McChesney Student Activity Center.

Dr. Brooks was instrumental in the creation of the Rob Spivery Endowed Scholarship to assist fifth-year members of the UM men's basketball program with scholarships. To date, he has helped raise over $40,000 in scholarship funds.

Dr. Brooks currently holds the UM record for best three-point percentage in program history at .491 during the 1987-88 season. He is also second in program history in the men's basketball record book with his 3-point field goal percentage of .434 during his playing career from 1986-88.

Joining Dr. Brooks in the Class of 2022 are Daniel Tankersley (Baseball), Gary O'Neill (Men's Soccer), Jim Dunaway (Broadcaster), Matt Orton (Athletics Photography), and Herman Watts (Men's Basketball).

"The 11-member Montevallo Athletics Hall of Fame committee has done a fine job selecting some of the best student-athletes to ever wear the Purple and Gold," said Mark Richard, UM Director of Athletics. "This year's class joins an elite group of Montevallo Hall of Famers that now includes 126 individuals and six teams."

"It is a high honor for the six individuals being inducted into the Montevallo Athletics Hall of Fame," Richard continued. "We are blessed and privileged to have seen you compete and for the honor you have brought upon the University and the programs you played for during your career at Montevallo. Congratulations on your induction."

Congratulations SCS Art Students

Congratulations to the following students whose artwork was selected to represent Shelby County Schools at the State Superintendent's Visual Art Exhibit. During the months of February and March, the artwork will be on display in the Old Supreme Court Library at the State Capitol Building in Montgomery. Winners from the state show will be announced in the coming weeks.

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

Visual Arts Elementary Division Winners K-6th

Visual Arts Middle Division Winners 7th-8th

Visual Arts Secondary Division Winners 9th-10th

Visual Arts Secondary Division Winners 11th-12th

Big picture

Visual Arts Honorable Mentions

Big picture

Columbiana Middle School Scholars Bowl Team Competes on APT Program

The Columbiana Middle School Scholars Bowl team competed on Alabama Public Television's "Alabama Scholars Bowl" program back in early December. Columbiana Middle School's match against Berry Middle School will be the first competition to air on Saturday, February 5. The series will continue to run every Saturday at 10 a.m. for 15 episodes. Columbiana Middle is expected to be featured in the first five episodes according to their coach, Jason Mayfield.

And, a special thank you to Mr. Mayfield for sharing this post recognizing his students for Gifted Education Month!

Big picture