Lively Middle School

January 27, 2023

Busca la version en Español? Favor de hacer clic en la pestaña de traduccion.

Big picture

Greetings Falcon Nation,


Our Fine Arts department is busy getting our students ready for spring performances, plays, and musicals. I spent most of this week visiting classrooms and had the opportunity to get a sneak peek into some exciting performances coming from our Choir and Theater departments. Our students are incredibly talented, and it is a privilege to be able to provide them with what they need to excel and grow in areas outside of academics. I want to specifically thank and highlight the efforts of Ms. Carroll, Choral Director, and her students for advancing to Regional Choir. This year, 17 out of 20 students will be moving on, and we are so proud of all of their accomplishments thus far.


This week’s newsletter has information about:


  • SALUTE! AISDs Annual Recognition Celebration

  • Online Registration

  • Yearbooks 22-23

  • Yearbooks 21-22

  • SEL Advisory Update

  • Falcon Flex

  • Important Dates

  • Parent and Student Resources

SALUTE! AISDs Annual Recognition Celebration

Save the Date for SALUTE 2023, May 10, 5:30 pm, at the Austin ISD Performing Arts Center!


Salute is AISD’s annual celebration to recognize some of the district’s outstanding team members for their continued dedication to student excellence and achievement in our schools.


Salute Category nominations are open until February 3rd!


District staff, families, and the community are invited to submit a nomination for a staff member they believe represents the very best of AISD. This year’s Salute Awards ceremony will recognize the winners in five categories: Classified Staff of the Year, Counselor of the Year, Librarian of the Year, Assistant Principal of the Year, Principal of the Year, and PTA of the year. In addition, Teachers of Promise and Teachers of the Year will be honored.


Salute Category Nominations

Nominations will close February 3rd at 5pm.

Online Registration

Registration is required each year for our existing students. Please log into your Parent Portal and locate the Registration Tile. For additional information regarding online registration, please visit our Parent Portal website at www.austinisd.org/enroll. Early registration helps us plan for the new school year.


Yearbooks 22-23

It’s time to purchase a yearbook! Our theme this year is “Keep Lively Weird”. Yearbooks are sold for $30 each. Please use the link below to purchase one for 22-23 school year.

Yearbooks 21-22

We also have the 21-22 school year Yearbook and those can now be purchase for $20. Please visit our front office for purchase or use the link below.
Big picture

Advisory/SEL

This week students heard stories of people who survived the Holocaust. Students then reflected on how racist and prejudicial thinking looks today and how to resist it. We also spent time doing service to our campus by doing a campus trash clean up prior to our weekly recess time. Our 7th graders also participated in the team-building activity of hula-hoop-link (6th and 8th grade completed last week).


Coming up next week, we will be learning about Fred Korematsu, a Japanese American civil rights leader who fought against internment camps of Japanese Americans during WWII. January 30th is Korematsu Day. Students will also be participating in a Socratic seminar for their AVID day, discussing current events and topics in our Austin community.


For our team-building activity, advisory classes will be showing their expert sweeping skills in a “sweep a sweet potato” competition. As always, we will also have our weekly recess.


Falcon Flex

Azucena Ramos is our amazing attendance specialist. Additionally, she works in the front office helping with our parents and students needs. She never shies away from lending a helping hand. Your Lively family absolutely respects and appreciates you.

Big picture

Important Dates

Week of January 30, 2023

A, B, A, B, C day

Wednesday, February 1st- Virtual CAC Meeting at 4:00p.m.

Thursday, February 2nd- Virtual Parent Coffee at 5:00p.m.

Boys BB 7th @ O'Henry, 8th @ Lively at 6:00p.m.

Friday, February 3rd- In Person Parent Coffee at 9:00

Saturday, January 28th- Girls Soccer A/B vs Ann Richards @ Ann Richards at 9:00a.m.


Have a great weekend, and I’ll see you on Monday!


Dr. Stacie Holiday, Principal

Parent and Student Resources

Cell Phone Contract

Click to view.

Chromebooks

Students who lose or damage their Chromebooks must pay $50 before they are issued a new one. Students who lose or damage Chargers must pay $15 before they are issued a new one. If you're Chromebook or charger isn't working, bring it to the library and it will be exchanged.
Chromebook Contract

Click to view.

Let's Talk

Click to view.

LIVELY DAZZLERS

Big picture
Big picture

8TH GRADE CELEBRATION FUND

Big picture

LIVELY GUITAR

Big picture

FALCONS IN ACTION

AVID Field Trip

The 8th grade AVID students spent their Wednesday morning at the 2023 Austin Career Fest at the Palmer Event Center! This event offered the students the opportunity to meet and mingle with representatives from different colleges and career fields. We left the event with knowledge and smiles! It was a great experience and a great time!


Thank you to the teacher chaperones: Mr. Vasquez and Ms Morgan! And another huge shout out to our parent chaperones: Ms Lara and Ms Tejeda! Your help was greatly appreciated! Thank you for taking time out of your day to support the AVID students!

Big picture

Utopian Classroom Samples

Ms. Vincent's Advisory

Students being creative.
Big picture

LIBRARY CORNER

It’s hard to believe January is almost over! If your student is interested in being a library aide next school year, please email me at: yvonne.steckel@austinisd.org.


This Week in the Library:

  • 358 library visits

  • 3 Small group events - Tutoring groups

  • 2 Class visits

  • 410 Digital Books checked out in January - so far!

Austin Public Library Student Library Cards!

Big picture
  • Find Your Card Number: no physical card for returning students.

    • Call 512974-7475 or email lib.studentcards@austintexas.gov to get your library card number.

    • Or - have your parent/guardian search their email for “APL student card” for card information.


  • Library cards will be delivered to new students during Advisory.


  • Student Library Card Account Number Password - Please ask your teacher or librarian!


The new Anime books are a hit with students!

Big picture

Food Free Fun and Tutoring in the library this week!

Big picture

Austin Allies Book Club

Austin Allies and BookPeople are excited to share that our monthly Kids’ Book Club will resume in January 2023. This free book club is open to all 3rd-8th graders in the greater Austin area and is a great way to support both voracious and reluctant readers.


Our book club selections tackle issues that our children face every day – from struggles in school to bullying to learning to love and accept themselves and others just as they are. The books are typically appropriate for upper elementary and middle school readers (3rd-8th graders.)


We will meet at BookPeople in downtown Austin on the fourth Saturday of each month from 1-2pm for an engaging discussion and book-related activities. Students should borrow or buy a copy of the book and read it before the book club. Our partner, BookPeople, offers a 10% discount on all book club purchases.

January BOOK

All young readers are welcome for an engaging discussion about Newbery Honor-winning book, Other Words For Home by Jasmine Warga. A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed. Note that this book tackles current topics like discrimination and immigration and includes mention of a bombing and a police raid. Recommended for 4th-8th grade readers.

Happy Reading,


Yvonne Steckel

Lively Librarian

yvonne.steckel@austinisd.org


Big picture

ATHLETIC CORNER

Boys Basketball Schedule

Big picture

Girls Soccer Schedule

Big picture

OTHER RESOURCES

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture