Northwest Ordinance

By: Diya Ramhtullah

Major land features in this area

The major land features in the northwest area are:
  • The Great Lakes
  • Appalachian Mountains
  • Ohio River
  • Mississippi River

Which states are included in the northwest territory?

The states that are in the northwest territory are:
  • Michigan
  • Ohio
  • Wisconsin
  • Indiana
  • Illinois

What is included in the northwest ordinance?

In the Northwest Ordinance there is a republican government, if the state didn't have a republican government then they wouldn't be able to become a state.

How a territory can become a state?

For a territory to become a state they needed to have 60,000 free inhabitants, each state shall be admitted into congress of the united states on an equal amount of footing with the original states with all respects. They should also have a liberty to form a constitution and state government which provides the constitution and the government should also be Republican.