Chartwell School: The Bulldog Bark

Your Weekly Information Update

August 5, 2021

COVID Update

Chartwell’s administrative team continues to monitor daily and weekly updates from the California Department of Education, the Monterey County Department of Education, and the California Department of Health regarding COVID in our county and the ongoing spread of the Delta variant.


At this time, masks will be required for all faculty, students, and parents when on campus.


Additionally, we are exploring options for on-campus testing prior to the beginning of school.


The situation is rapidly changing and we are preparing for various scenarios. Our highest priority is the health and safety of our students and faculty and we thank you for your support as we continue to navigate the pandemic together. More information will be provided next week.

Letters from Division Directors

Last week, division directors emailed letters to all families including important information to start the new year. The letters are included below for easy reference.


FIRST DAY OF SCHOOL HIGH SCHOOL: Monday, August 16

(8:15 am arrival)


FIRST DAY OF SCHOOL LOWER AND MIDDLE: Tuesday, August 17

(Lower School arrival at 8:15 am; Middle School arrival at 9:00 am)

Carpool Survey

Interested in partnering with other Chartwell families to create a carpool? Complete the survey below and families will be connected per their geographic region.


Please complete the survey by end of day on Sunday, August 8 so families have time to coordinate in advance of school starting.


CHARTWELL CARPOOL SURVEY

New Family Social: Thursday, August 12

NEW FAMILY SOCIAL

Thursday, August 12, 2021

4:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.

Chartwell Campus


Join Chartwell faculty and staff and other new families for a relaxed gathering outdoors on the Chartwell Campus. A taco cart, refreshments, and desserts (made by members of the Chartwell Family Network) will be provided.


Masks are required. Families will dine together so they can safely remove masks while eating.


Please RSVP to Nena Prakash at events@chartwell.org with the number of family members attending and with any questions.
Big picture

Back to School Night Date Adjustment

In an effort to allow for more space and social distancing during our Back to School nights, we have moved the Middle School Back to School to September 16.


Lower School Back to School Night

Thursday, September 9

3:15 pm - 6:00 pm


Middle School and High School Back to School Night

Thursday, September 16

3:15 pm - 6:00 pm

Middle School Sports Sign-Up

We are excited to announce the following competitive sports teams for Chartwell Middle School during the 2021-2022 school year. Both boys and girls are eligible to sign-up for all sports.


Fall- Volleyball (based on interest), Soccer, Cross Country, Flag Football

Winter- Basketball, Cheerleading, Wrestling

Spring-Track and Field, Golf


In order to prepare, please complete the form below (or click here) indicating which sports your child is interested in joining. The volleyball team's first game is in early September. If we have enough interest, Coach Patterson will begin practices shortly after school starts.


If you have any questions at all, please reach out to Coach Rory Patterson at rpatterson@chartwell.org.

Reminder: Summer Reading: High School

Hopefully, your student got a break this summer (HERE’s an article about that.) If your student did read a book this summer, help them remember to bring the book and be ready to talk and write about it when we start school!

Reminder: Summer Reading: Lower and Middle School

This summer we encouraged students to read books and/or listen to human-narrated books on our account with Learning Ally. Details can be found in this letter from Mrs. Amaditz to families and this Bingo Board.

Questions?

If you have questions for us, please contact one of the following Chartwell Team Members:


Head of School, Kate Mulligan: kmulligan@chartwell.org

Assistant Head and Director of Outreach and Family Engagement, Danielle Patterson: dpatterson@chartwell.org

Director of Lower and Middle Schools, Jodi Amaditz: jamaditz@chartwell.org

Co-Directors of High School: Cheryl Milton (cmilton@chartwell.org) and Jeff Morton (jmorton@chartwell.org)

Director of Student Support: Billy Swift bswift@chartwell.org

Director of Campus Management and Safety, John Langrill: jlangrill@chartwell.org

STEAM or EdTech: Topher Mueller at tmueller@chartwell.org

Director of Advancement and Communications, Elena Mueller: emueller@chartwell.org

Middle School Athletics: Rory Patterson rpatterson@chartwell.org

High School Athletics: Garrett Benjamin gbenjamin@chartwell.org

Technical Support: John Langrill at jlangrill@chartwell.org