MGM 8th Grade House News

December 7, 2018

Welcome!

Welcome to 8th Grade! Please read below for house news, upcoming assessments, and 8th-grade house highlights. These newsletters will be emailed every Friday.

Follow Us!

Please keep up with news and happenings at MGMS by following us on social media. Check us out at:


Facebook @mgmsgators

Twitter @mgmgators

Instagram @mgmgators

School website: mgms.lexington1.net

Take a Stand Expedition

Our expedition in 8th grade, Take a Stand, has officially begun with our kick off - a flash mob led by our 8th-grade teachers, the viewing and debriefing of the movie, Hidden Figures, and a morning of community experts. Our students will be asked to Take a Stand and bring about action to an individual passion. We are very proud of the work that has taken place thus far. Our students will explore two guiding questions throughout the next couple of months. They are:

1. Why take a stand?

2. How do I, others, and organizations take a stand?

Musical Theatre Production of Guys and Dolls Jr

Congratulations to our Musical Theatre students and teachers. What an amazing performance on Thursday and Friday nights. You guys were fantastic. What an honor to watch such talent. We are so proud of all of you.

MGM Counseling Department - Follow us on Twitter: @mgmcounseling

MGM PTO NEWS

Sign up using the link below to receive emails from MGMS PTO. We will share information about our meetings, events, volunteer opportunities and more! Register Here Please contact us at mgmsptogators@gmail.com if you have any questions.



See upcoming PTO dates:

* Ongoing - keep saving your used ink and toner cartridges


Dec 7 - Krispy Kreme car line sale 7am

Dec 7 - PTO Meeting 8am (following car line sale)

Dec 11 - Pelican's Snoballs & Box Tops Collection during lunches

Dec 12 - Pelican's Snoballs & Box Tops Collection during lunches

Dec 13 - Merchandise Sale during lunches

Dec 14- Merchandise sale during lunches

Dec 21- Half Day


Dec 24 - Jan 4 - Winter Break

Yearbook Recognition Ad for 8th Grade

Please see attached form regarding 8th Grade Recognition Ads

Be a Fan of Special Olympics - Pie Mrs. Bray

Help buy Special Olympics t-shirts. Bring your money next week during lunch. The grade that raises the most money will get to pie Mrs. Bray. See our Be A Fan Flyer for more details.
Big picture
Big picture

Book Club December 11th 3:30-4:30

Big picture

Relay for Life - Fill a Water Bottle

Did you know that a water bottle filled with dimes equals about $100?

Can you imagine the impact we could have as a school if EVERY CREW could fill a water bottle for Relay for Life?


Bring your dimes to CREW and fill up a water bottle for Relay for Life.

Big picture

Save the Date - 9th Grade Course Selection

Save the Date!


Rising 9th Grade Course Selection Night @ MGM

Tuesday, January 15. 2019 @ 6:00 pm

Encore News

Week of Dec 10


Art: All students are continuing to work on gridded Portraits


8th grade - Please read through the 8th grade yearbook ads. They are due in Jan. Online submission is preferred.

House Happenings

Social Studies students are working through the final preparations for the debates. They are practicing their roles in class and will "scrimmage" against teams Monday before their summative debates on Tuesday-Thursday next week. Exciting work from our students as they connect to our Take a Stand Expedition.

8TH GRADE UPCOMING ASSESSMENTS

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT ASSESSMENTS BELOW, PLEASE EMAIL YOUR CHILD'S TEACHER.
ELA: Check Schoology for updates


ENGLISH I: Check Schoology for updates


PRE-ALGEBRA: Writing Equations Quiz on Friday, 12/14


ALGEBRA I: 6.4- 6.5 Quiz on Thursday, 12/13


GEOMETRY: Check Schoology for updates


SCIENCE : Constellation projects (models and research paper) due Monday at the end of class. (Duggan, Dyar and Tesh)


SOCIAL STUDIES: Take A Stand Summative Debates are Tuesday 12/11, Wednesday 12/12, and Thursday 12/13.


WORLD LANGUAGES: Please click on the link to view assessments.

Teacher Contact Information

Please contact your child's teacher if you have any questions or concerns.

Administration:

Dr Bill Coon - bcoon@lexington1.net

Dr. Kyle Meetze - kmeetze@lexington1.net

Jamie Powell-jpowell@lexington1.net

Alisa Long- aklong@lexington1.net

House Leader

Ashley Holmes aholmes@lexington1.net


8th Grade Core Teachers

Please see the attached information for 8th grade core teachers. Each content area also provided tips for success in these classes.


Encore Teachers

Drama - Rachel Cooper - rlcooper@lexington1.net

Orchestra - Jennifer Mann - jmann@lexington1.net

Dance - Megan Viazanko- mviazanko@lexington1.net

Dance - Kara Corley - kccorley@lexington1.net

Band - Melanie Winn- mwinn@lexinton1.net

Art - June Collins - jcollins@lexington1.net

Art - Beth Maddox - bmaddox@lexington1.net

Chorus - Augie Gil- agil@lexington1.net

STEM - Cliff Roberts - cjroberts@lexington1.net

ICIVICS - Melody Shafer - mshafer@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Phillip Thomas - pthomas@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Stephen Harmon - srharmon@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed- Abby Chisholm - achisholm@lexington1.net

PE - Candice Cobb - ccobb@lexington1.net

PE - Ben Anderson- rbanderson2@lexington1.net

Digital Design - Ryan Panter - rpanter@lexington1.net

Supplemental Math - Ann Bennett - abennett@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Susan Myrick - smyrick@lexington1.net

Math RTI - Trisha Hamilton - thamilton@lexington1.net

ELA RTI - Rayna Kleckley - rkleckley@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Jennifer Williams - jbwilliams@lexington1.net


World Language

Latin - Jessica Stolebarger - jstolebarger@lexington1.net

French - Dr. Todd Spaulding - tspaulding@lexington1.net

French - Erin Hamner - ehamner@lexington1.net

French - Cheikh Fall - cfall@lexington1.net

French - Catherine Pontens-Alemu - cpontens-alemu@lexington1.net

Chinese - Na Zhang - nzhang@lexington1.net

Chinese - Susan Wang - ywang@lexington1.net

Chinese-Natalie Lukity - nlukity@lexington1.net

Spanish - Samantha Simmons - ssimmons@lexington1.net

Spanish - Valentina Salomon msalomon@lexington1.net

Spanish - Hilda Duarte - hduartegomez@lexington1.net

Spanish - Filder Segura - fsegura@lexington1.net

Thank you for sharing your children with us each day! We look forward to a great school year!