MGM 6th Grade House News

November 2, 2018

Welcome!

Welcome to 6th Grade! Please read below for house news, upcoming assessments, and 6th-grade house highlights! These newsletters will be sent out every week on Friday!

Follow Us!

Please keep up with news and happenings at MGMS by following us on social media. Check us out at:


Facebook @mgmsgators

Twitter @mgmgators

Instagram @mgmgators

School website: mgms.lexington1.net

Teacher Contact Information

Please contact your child's teacher if you have any questions or concerns.

Administration

Dr Bill Coon - bcoon@lexington1.net

Dr. Kyle Meetze - kmeetze@lexington1.net

Jamie Powell-jpowell@lexington1.net

Alisa Long- aklong@lexington1.net


School Counseling

Laura Stockdell- lstockdell@lexington1.net


House Leader

Tracey West - twest@lexington1.net


Content Area Teachers:

ELA

Claire Calcina- ccalcina@lexington1.net

Mindy Matthews - mhmatthews@lexington1.net

Matt Bonte'- mbonte@lexington1.net

Social Studies

Courtney Garrison -cgarrison@lexington1.net

Ryan Miles - rmiles@lexington1.net

Sarah Huey-Clowney - shuey-clowney@lexington1.net

Science

Patrick Burnett- pburnett@lexington1.net

Sara Loper - sloper@lexington1.net

Dr Jessica Quinton - jquinton@lexington1.net

Math

Megan Freiburger - mfreiburger@lexington1.net

Amber Chavis- achavis@lexington1.net

Ashley Seats - aseats@lexington1.net

Tracey West-twest@lexington1.net


Encore Teachers

Drama - Rachel Cooper - rlcooper@lexington1.net

Orchestra - Jennifer Mann - jmann@lexington1.net

Dance - Megan Viazanko- mviazanko@lexington1.net

Dance - Kara Corley - kccorley@lexington1.net

Band - Melanie Winn- mwinn@lexinton1.net

Art - June Collins - jcollins@lexington1.net

Art - Beth Maddox - bmaddox@lexington1.net

Chorus - Augie Gil- agil@lexington1.net

STEM - Cliff Roberts - cjroberts@lexington1.net

ICIVICS - Melody Shafer - mshafer@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Phillip Thomas - pthomas@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Stephen Harmon - srharmon@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed- Abby Chisholm - achisholm@lexington1.net

PE - Candice Cobb - ccobb@lexington1.net

PE- Ben Anderson- rbanderson@lexington1.net

Chorus - Auggie Gil- agil@lexington1.net

Digital Design - Ryan Panter - rpanter@lexington1.net

Supplemental Math - Ann Bennett - abennett@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Susan Myrick - smyrick@lexington1.net

Math RTI - Trisha Hamilton - thamilton@lexington1.net

ELA RTI - Rayna Kleckley - rkleckley@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Jennifer Williams - jbwilliams@lexington1.net


World Language

Latin - Jessica Stolebarger - jstolebarger@lexington1.net

French - Erin Hamner - ehamner@lexington1.net

French - Cheikh Fall - cfall@lexington1.net

Chinese - Na Zhang - nzhang@lexington1.net

Chinese - Susan Wang - ywang@lexington1.net

Chinese-Natalie Lukity - nlukity@lexington1.net

Spanish - Samantha Simmons - ssimmons@lexington1.net

Spanish - Valentina Salomon msalomon@lexington1.net

Spanish- Manuel Vasquez mvasquez@lexington1.net

6th Grade Expedition Kick Off-

Students and teachers participated in a variety of activities and protocols on Friday, Nov 2nd to introduce everyone to our 6th grade Expedition, "Rules To Live By". These activities took place throughout our classes and we ended the day with a reveal of what we will be learning about during the 2nd 9 weeks. Some of the activities/ protocols were different than our normal routines to help emphasis and introduce our expedition. Our 6th graders did a great job and enjoyed participating in our activities during CREW and classes.

Veterans Day Celebration at MGMS

Dear MGM Family,

You are cordially invited to our Meadow Glen Middle School Veterans Breakfast.

On Friday, November 16, 2018 we will honor our active duty and retired military veteran family members with a special breakfast. Students are encouraged to bring veteran family members to enjoy breakfast with them. The breakfast will be from 7:30 am-8:00 am. Following the breakfast we will have a school wide assembly to honor veterans. WE would love for you to stay for this ceremony.


Please RSVP to the breakfast by signing up online at https://goo.gl/forms/Dkp7vzZIkMQwmGPu2 no later than Friday, November 9, 2018, so that final preparations can be made.


We look forward to honoring our veterans. Thank you for your service.


Sincerely,

Meadow Glen Middle School

Encore News

Save the Date:

MGM DANCE - FALL SHOW featuring original student choreography


Thursday November 8th, MGM Auditorium


6:00pm (6th & 7th grade combined show)

7:30pm (8th grade show)



6th Grade Choir After School Rehearsal - Friday, Nov. 2, 3:45pm-5:15pm in MGM Choir Room and Theatre


Honor Choir After School Rehearsal (6th, 7th, and 8th Grade)- Friday, November 9 from 3:45pm-5:15pm in the MGM Choir Room and Theatre

6TH GRADE UPCOMING ASSESSMENTS

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT ASSESSMENTS BELOW, PLEASE EMAIL YOUR CHILD'S TEACHER.
ELA: Final draft of "My Hero's Journey" due by the end of the period on Wednesday, November 7th for a SUMMATIVE grade.

Reminder: This is a summative that does not have a retake opportunity because it is a writing assignment completed over multiple class periods.



MATH: 6th Math -Summative-Chapter 3-Friday, Nov. 9


Accelerated- Adding and Subtrating Decimals Quiz-Wed. Nov.7


SCIENCE: No Assessments

Field Studies $ and Forms are due Nov. 16


SOCIAL STUDIES: REMINDER: Students attending the Washington D.C. field study: medication forms, behavior contracts, and permission slips need to be sent in asap. These are due by November 14, 2018.

We will have a quiz next Wednesday about Renaissance Achievements and Advancements and Languages.


WORLD LANGUAGES: Please click on the following link for theworld language assessments. https://docs.google.com/document/d/1T-gYniUoXeNez_rKDfpl77_AgJ4mZbCYQfz56iXEfQ8

Science Field Study

Permission Forms will be coming home next week. Permission Forms will be due on Nov. 16th and checks need to be made out to Meadow Glen Middle School.

THANK YOU

MGMS Counseling Information

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B-xnH9PvyUElelFlTEJra19POC1WaDdGR0F6N3VFanFjY0RZ


Follow our counseling center on twitter @mgmcounseling.

PTO Information

Sign up using the link below to receive emails from MGMS PTO. We will share information about our meetings, events, volunteer opportunities and more! Register Here Please contact us at mgmsptogators@gmail.com if you have any questions.


SIgn up Genius Link for Teacher Appreciaton help.

Thank you for sharing your children with us each day!

WE ARE HAVING A FANTASTIC START TO THE 2018-19 SCHOOL YEAR!