The Justice System

Federal Government

Different levels of Federal Court Systems

There are 3 types of federal courts; this includes:

The Supreme court: The highest court established by the Constitution.

Court of Appeals: There are a total of 13 circuits in our country.

District Courts: The lowest court and has 94 districts spread across the U.S.

Types of Jurisdiction

Exclusive Jurisdiction: Forum in which an action may be heard

Concurrent Jurisdiction: Overlap of two or more courts over the same cause of action

Original Jurisdiction: Authority to hear a case for the first time

Appellate Jurisdiction: Power to review a case based on a lower court decision

Responsibilities at each level of Federal Court System

The Supreme Court: Mostly involve in answering important questions about the Constitution or federal law. Major cases are sent here because it is above all other courts of the U.S.

Appellate Court: Hear appeals in specialized cases, such as those involving patent laws.

District Courts: Jurisdiction to hear nearly all categories of federal cases, including both civil and criminal matters.