The Americas

Maya, Aztec, and Inca

Mayan Civilization

The Maya lived in an area of about 120,000 square miles. Today, their territory is divided among Mexico and several Central American countries. It consists of the Mexican states of Campeche, Yucatán, and Quintana Roo and part of the states of Tabasco and Chiapas. It also includes Belize, most of Guatemala, and parts of El Salvador and of Honduras.
Big image

Aztec civilization

The Aztecs were an American Indian people who ruled a mighty empire in Mexico during the 1400's and early 1500's. It stood on the site of present-day Mexico City and, according to legend, was established in 1325.
Big image

Incan civilization

were a native South American people who ruled one of the largest and richest empires in the Americas. The Inca empire emerged in the early A.D. 1400’s and occupied a vast region centered around the capital of Cuzco, in southern Peru. The empire extended over 2,500 miles along the western coast and mountains of South America. It included parts of present-day Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia, Chile, and Argentina.
Big image


Compare & Contrast

The Mayan, Aztec, and the Incan civilizations all have the achievements of the calendar, mathematics, and the writing system. All of their economies are based upon agriculture. The Mayan and the Aztecs are located in Mexico while the Incans are located in South America. The Incans had the road system. The Aztecs and the Mayans both built pyramids.

Mayan's video

Aztec's video

Incan's video