Square Up to RTI2

November, 2017

"The happiest people don't have the best of everything.

They make the best of everything they have."

~ Unknown

We Want to Hear From You!

Thank you to those who filled out the survey. We would love to hear from more of you. Last year, we moved from paper copies of RTI2 Student Plans to plans in digital form using Aspen. We would like your feedback on using this format and give you the opportunity for other feedback on how we could make this process more efficient. Please follow this link to access an Aspen RTI2 feedback form. This survey will be available until November 20th.

"Say Dyslexia" Law Reminders

Thank you for attending the trainings over the past few weeks regarding the "Say Dyslexia" law. We will use the RTI2 newsletter to provide reminders as we all work through this new process.


  • At this point your team should be administering diagnostic assessments to students who may display characteristics of a student with dyslexia. These links will help you prioritize steps in getting this accomplished.
Prioritizing Elementary Students in Identifying Characteristics of Dyslexia

Prioritizing Secondary Students in Identifying Characteristics of Dyslexia

  • After administering assessments, the team should analyze results and provide the appropriate support for students

Parent notification will need to go home, but right now we are focusing on identifying our students that exhibit characteristic of dyslexia.

Say Dyslexia Law Resources

The link below will take you to a Google folder with resources regarding dyslexia. Items include the PowerPoints and handouts from recent trainings, assessments like the PASS and PWRS, and more.

Follow this link to Say Dyslexia Law resources.

Analyzing Oral Reading Fluency

Analyzing why a student's fluency is poor is crucial to address specific issues hindering student progress in Reading. The video below provides a resource to analyzing a student's oral reading fluency. Thank you Kate Beidleman from Lonsdale Elementary for this information.


Oral Reading Observation Guide and Teaching Points- Early

Oral Reading Observation Guide and Teaching Points- Emergent

Oral Reading Observation Guide and Teaching Points- Fluent

Oral Reading Observation Guide and Teaching Points- Transitional

RTI Observation Guides

Aspen Helpful Hints

Several querying options are available to help with entering data under fidelity checks and progress monitoring. For example...setting up data entry for progress reporting before the meeting. After clicking the Select button to choose students, click on the button next to Query. Type RTI in the search area and click the magnifying glass. You will see several options including RTI- Active Math All, RTI- Active Reading Tier 2, RTI Students Active- All, and more. Using a query allows you to use the control+D feature to fill in area of need and tier level as a group instead of individually. The video below walks you through the process. The names of students have been blurred out.

Aspen_Query

RTI2 Parent Night

Parents at Bluegrass Elementary spent an evening last month learning about RTI2 and gaining a better understanding of the process. Presentations included information on the screening process, supporting students in tiers 1, 2, and 3, and the new Say Dyslexia law.

RTI2 Reminders

  • Winter norms begin November 15 (11/15/17 thru 3/14/18)
  • Benchmarking dates: Winter- December 1-20
  • Elementary Math Winter Screening Probes (grades 2-5) will be printed and delivered to schools in the upcoming weeks
  • Direct Observations (Fidelity Checks) should be ongoing. Remember that 2 need to be completed for Tier 2 and 3 for Tier 3 students each semester

Content Area Resources

Previous RTI2 Newsletters

RTI2 Coaching Support

RTI2 COACHING SUPPORT

Paula Sarver, Lead Coach - paula.sarver@knoxschools.org

Peggy Burkey - peggy.burkey@knoxschools.org

Jan Coopwood - jan.coopwood@knoxschools.org

Karla Halcomb - karla.halcomb@knoxschools.org

Mary Lyster - mary.lyster@knoxschools.org

Christine Pope - christine.pope@knoxschools.org

Heidi Swaney - heidi.swaney@knoxschools.org

Beth Underwood - bethany.underwood@knoxschools.org

Jennifer Yow - jennifer.yow@knoxschools.org