Lynx MS News

AIS West - January 2022

Hello AIS West Middle School Community,


Welcome back to school! We've had a fantastic first week back at school. Student behavior has been incredible and the learning is palpable. Unfortunately, as Randy and I mentioned in previous communication, COVID numbers are increasing and we will move online next week. Please review the important dates listed below so we are on track for the month ahead.


Our Parent Coffee Talk, which had to be cancelled due to staff shortages, has been rescheduled for next Wednesday at 10:00am on Zoom. We hope to be able to connect with you! Stay tuned for a Zoom link that will be sent in a separate message.


Thank you for your continued flexibility and support. Don't hesitate to reach out with any questions or concerns.


Your partners in education,

Chelsea Armstrong

Principal

carmstrong@aiswest.com


Mathias Sanders

Assistant Principal

msanders@aiswest.com


Reham Sherif

Administrative Assistant

rsherif@aiswest.com

AIS West is Online January 16 - 20

Big picture

Important Dates

January 15 - 10:45 - 12:15

Grade 7 Arabic Religion Exam - Gym


January 16 - 20

Online Learning


January 18 - 8:00 - 10:30

Grade 8 Arabic Exams - On Campus In Period 1 Classrooms


January 19 - 10:00 on Zoom

Parent Coffee Talk


January 20 - 8:00 - 9:30

Grade 7 Arabic Social Studies Exams - On Campus in Period 2 (Block 1) Classrooms


January 22 - 10:45 - 12:15

Grade 8 Arabic Religion Exams - Gym


January 26 - 8:00 - 9:30

Grade 8 Arabic Social Studies Exam - On Campus in Period 4 (Block 1) Classrooms


January 27 - National Holiday - No School

*Student and Teacher of the Month* Reflective

Big picture

Student of the Month - Yasmine Mohamed

Jessy was selected by her teachers because she embodies the REFLECTIVE IB Learner Profile Attribute. Jessy is thoughtful, considerate and always reflecting on her learning. She is a model student. Congratulations, Jessy!!

Teacher of the Month --- Dolores Rodriguez

Señora Dolores is a super teacher who embodies what it means to be REFLECTIVE. We are all so lucky to have Dolores at AIS West.

Counselor's Corner

A fresh new term means a new start for all of us. Students have already started new electives and have the chance to apply for elective changes up until January 17th. The parent workshop will be on January 29th; the topic will be about screen time. Hope to see you all there!


Angela Fushtey

afushtey@aiswest.com

What's Happening in Grade 6?

English 6 - Michaela Lucey - mlucey@aiswest.com - Sara Affify - saffify@aiswest.com

We are building background knowledge to get ready for our next novel Zarah the Windseeker. We are learning about the steps in a Hero's Journey in both novels and film and learning more about the culture of the Author Nnedi Okorafor who uses elements of Nigerian myths and folklore in her work.

Geography 6 - John Lawrence - jlawrence@aiswest.com - Abdelkader Chabi - achabi@aiswest.com

Students will explore "Land Use conflict in the Amazon Rainforest". They will answer the question, "How should the resources of rainforests be used and preserved?"

Math 6 - Vince Yung - vyung@aiswest.com - Michael Heard - mheard@aiswest.com

Students will research concepts of areas of rectangles and triangles and surface areas of regular prisms.

Science 6 - Amanda Bailey - abailey@aiswest.com - Amanda Kerschen- akerschen@aiswest.com

This month in science students will explore how various landforms are created from the force of nature. Students will be able to explain how wind, water, ice, and temperature have shaped our planet over time.

Arabic 6 - Ahmed Khattab - akhattab@aiswest.com - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

اللغة العربية: درس " الحياة دائمًا اثنان" قراءة. / درس "الحرية و المسئولية " نصوص. / درس "الأسماء الخمسة " نحو. / الفصل الخامس - قصة علي مبارك.

AFL 6 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

القراءة (الترويح عن النفس ) النحو ( مراجعة علي الضمائر ) تحدث واستماع ( قصة النملة). الإملاء ( التنوين بالضم والكسر )

French 6 - Edwina Nordquist - enordquist@aiswest.com

In French 6, students will learn French greetings, introducing themselves and introduction to basic grammar. In our culture section, we will begin to learn about the French speaking world.

Spanish 6 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

Welcome new students and we will learn the norms, expectations and class rules & through learning the history of the language and decide if Spanish is a language worth learning.

Drama 6 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

In Drama 6, students will be introduced to the expectations of this class and to key concepts of physical and vocal expressions through drama games.

Robotics 6 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

Welcome new students! During this month we will learn the norms, expectations and rules of our classroom & how to program robots with openRoberta Lab.

Physical Education 6 - Anders Nordquist, Marty Perry, Katrina Wards anordquist@aiswest.com, mperry@aiswest.com kwards@aiswest.com

Students will test their current health related fitness levels and set fitness goals that they wish to achieve by the end of the fitness unit. Students will also create a fitness plan that they can implement to help them to achieve their goals.

Art 6 - Mai Hedieb - mhedieb@aiswest.com

Welcome new students! We will discuss the class room expectations. Students will make an elements of art booklet and learn about lines, shapes, value, texture, form and space.

Dance 6 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

Students are learning the dance foundations, class expectations and rules.

What's Happening in Grade 7?

English 7 - Sara Affify and Amira Nabhan - saffify@aiswest.com, anabhan@aiswest.com

This month, students will start a new novel. Students will read The Breadwinner and analyze as well as draw inferences from the text, while following the main character and the challenges she faces.

Math 7 - Michael Heard - mheard@aiswest.com

We are currently exploring ratios and proportions and finding out how to use them in real life problem solving situations.

Science 7 - Amanda Kerschen & Holly Holst akerschen@aiswest.com, hholst@aiswest.com

Students are starting Unit 4, which is entitles "Earth's Processes Through Geologic Time". They will be exploring the concepts of plate tectonics, the geologic time scale, and fossils. We will be completing at least one fun lab to help illustrate place tectonics.

History 7 - Abdelkader Chabi and Daniel McCarville - achabi@aiswest.com, dmccarville@aiswest.com

This month, students are exploring the geography of Ancient India. Students will create a magazine cover displaying artifacts from the ancient city of Mohenjo-Daro.

Spanish 7 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

We will practice gender and number agreement in adjectives and nouns, to describe what one and others like to do.

Arabic 7 - Sahar Mahmoud and Ahmed Khattab - smahmoud@aiswest.com, akhattab@aiswest.com

القواعد:أسلوب الشرط /النصوص: تواضع سيدنا عمر / كتابة موضوع عن التواضع والعدل وتطبيق مبدأ الشورى / الفصل التاسع والعاشرمن قصة عقبة

Drama 7 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

In Drama 7, students will be introduced to the expectations of this class, key concepts of physical and vocal expressions through drama games and to the five elements of Drama.

French 7 -Edwina Nordquist- enordquist@aiswest.com

We are reviewing grammar from the previous term then students will start a new chapter on how to ask about likes or dislikes, agree and disagree, ask how often you do an activity, ask how well you do something and ask about preferences. In our géoculture section, students will explore Île de France.

AFL 7 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

القراءة (أبو قير وأبو صير) النحو (المثني وجمع المذكر ) تحدث واستماع

(الأميرة المتوهجة) الإملاء ( علامات التعجب والاستفهام )

Art 7 - Mai Hedieb - mhedieb@aiswest.com

Welcome new students! This month we will review classroom expectations and make an elements of art poster.

Dance 7 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

Students are learning the dance foundations, class expectations and rules.

Physical Education 7 - Anders Nordquist - anordquist@aiswest.com

Students will test their current health related fitness levels and set fitness goals that they wish to achieve by the end of the fitness unit. Students will also create a fitness plan that they can implement to help them to achieve their goals.

Video Games 7 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

Welcome to videogames design! This month students will be learning what is the MDA framework and how it is used to design videogames.

What's Happening in Grade 8?

English 8 - Amira Nabhan and Stacy Pape - spape@aiswest.com

This month, students will start a new book. Students will read I am Malala and analyze, as well as draw inferences from, the text while following the main character and the challenges she faces.

Math 8 - Amira Elsherif & Sophie Sewailem -aelsherif@aiswest.com, ssewailem@aiswest.com

This term we are expanding our knowledge of co-ordinate geometry and relating it to equations of a line. We will learn about gradient and different methods to graph a line.

History 8 - Daniel MacCarville - dmaccarville@aiswest.com - Stacy Pape - spape@aiswest.com

This month, the students will be learning about the dawn of Humanism and the amazing period known as the Italian Renaissance. Within this unit, the students will be doing projects on Italian City States and Renaissance Art.

Spanish 8 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

We will review the material seen last semester to wrap up the lesson, and start a new unit on how to go shopping in Spanish.

French 8 - Edwina Nordquist and Iman Elarfaaoui- enordquist@aiswest.com, ielarfaaoui@aiswest.com

Students will continue learning on how to ask how often you do an activity, ask how well they do something and ask about preferences. In grammar, students will learn the conjunctions. In géoculture, we will explore Québec.

Coding 8 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

Welcome to coding! This month students will be learning what Algorithms are and how to use them in Processing to create simple programs.

AFL 8 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

القراءة (الكنز قبل ان يضيع) النحو (أركان الجملة الاسمية والجملة الفعلية) تحدث واستماع

(قصة الغازلات الثلاثة) الإملاء ( همزة القطع )

Arabic 8 -Ali Mansour - amansour@aiswest.com

مراجعة على ما تمت دراسته من أجل الاستعداد للامتحان - بعد الانتهاء من الامتحان نبدأ بشرح الدروس التالية: الكنز قبل أن يضيع - الخلق كنز لايفنى - التمييز

Art 8 - Mai Hedieb - mhedieb@aiswest.com

Welcome new students! In art class we will start with some warm up exercises exploring the elements of art. We will concentrate on line, value, shapes, color, and texture. We will study also color theory.

Dance 8 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

Students are learning the dance foundations, class expectations and rules.

Drama 8 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

In Drama 8, students will be introduced to expectations of this class, key concepts of physical and vocal expressions though drama games and to the 5 elements of Drama.

Physical Education 8 - Marty Perry, Katrina Wards, and Anders Nordquist mperry@aiswest.com, kwards@aiswest.com, and anordquist@aiswest.com

Students will test their current health related fitness levels and set fitness goals that they wish to achieve by the end of the fitness unit. Students will also create a fitness plan that they can implement to help them to achieve their goals.

AIS West Middle School

Follow us on Instagram @aise_west_middleschool