MGM 8th Grade House News

November 16, 2018

Welcome!

Welcome to 8th Grade! Please read below for house news, upcoming assessments, and 8th-grade house highlights. These newsletters will be emailed every Friday.

Follow Us!

Please keep up with news and happenings at MGMS by following us on social media. Check us out at:


Facebook @mgmsgators

Twitter @mgmgators

Instagram @mgmgators

School website: mgms.lexington1.net

MGM HONORS VETERANS

We enjoyed celebrating our MGM community veterans this morning. THANK YOU to all who have and are serving our country. Our program this morning was student led and had students from all three grades participating. We were humbled by your presence and we are so very grateful for your service.

MGM Jr. Beta Club Induction Ceremony

Congratulations to the newly inducted Beta Club Members. We are very proud of you.


IF YOUR STUDENT WAS UNABLE TO MAKE IT TO THIS MOST RECENT CEREMONY, the next induction will be held on Thursday, January 10th at 6pm in the MGM Theatre.


If you have questions, please reach out to rlcooper@lexington1.net.

Take a Stand Expedition

Our expedition in 8th grade, Take a Stand, has officially begun with our kick off - a flash mob led by our 8th-grade teachers, the viewing and debriefing of the movie, Hidden Figures, and a morning of community experts. Our students will be asked to Take a Stand and bring about action to an individual passion. We are very proud of the work that has taken place thus far. Our students will explore two guiding questions throughout the next couple of months. They are:

1. Why take a stand?

2. How do I, others, and organizations take a stand?

MGM Counseling Department - Follow us on Twitter: @mgmcounseling

MGM PTO NEWS

Sign up using the link below to receive emails from MGMS PTO. We will share information about our meetings, events, volunteer opportunities and more! Register Here Please contact us at mgmsptogators@gmail.com if you have any questions.


See upcoming PTO dates:

Nov 20- Swamp Fest - Sign up to Volunteer: Swamp Fest Sign Up (Concessions will be available for purchase for $1.00 each - cash only)

Nov 21-23 - Thanksgiving Break - SAVE YOUR BOX TOPS!!!

Nov 26 - Christmas Tree and Wreath pick up - 12pm to 8pm

* Ongoing - keep saving your used ink and toner cartridges


Dec 5 - Collaborative Planning Day - Dismiss at 12:40

Dec 7 - Krispy Kreme car line sale 7am

Dec 7 - PTO Meeting 8am (following car line sale)

Dec 11 - Pelican's Snoballs & Box Tops Collection during lunches

Dec 12 - Pelican's Snoballs & Box Tops Collection during lunches

Dec 13 - Merchandise Sale during lunches

Dec 14- Merchandise sale during lunches

Dec 21- Half Day


Dec 24 - Jan 4 - Winter Break

Encore News

Monday, November 19th is the MGM Music Fundraiser pick up from 2:00-5:00 pm in the band room. Please pick up your items as we have no way of storing them!

8TH GRADE UPCOMING ASSESSMENTS

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT ASSESSMENTS BELOW, PLEASE EMAIL YOUR CHILD'S TEACHER.
ELA: Students are currently reading independent books of their choice, ask your child about their book.


ENGLISH I: One Pager is due on Tuesday, November 20


PRE-ALGEBRA: None


ALGEBRA I: Test next Tuesday on 5.5-5.7 and 11.6 (Standard Form, Parallel & Perpendicular Lines, Scatterplots & Trend Lines, and Inverse Variation)


GEOMETRY: None


SCIENCE : None


SOCIAL STUDIES: None


WORLD LANGUAGES: Please click on the link to view assessments.

Teacher Contact Information

Please contact your child's teacher if you have any questions or concerns.

Administration:

Dr Bill Coon - bcoon@lexington1.net

Dr. Kyle Meetze - kmeetze@lexington1.net

Jamie Powell-jpowell@lexington1.net

Alisa Long- aklong@lexington1.net

House Leader

Ashley Holmes aholmes@lexington1.net


8th Grade Core Teachers

Please see the attached information for 8th grade core teachers. Each content area also provided tips for success in these classes.


Encore Teachers

Drama - Rachel Cooper - rlcooper@lexington1.net

Orchestra - Jennifer Mann - jmann@lexington1.net

Dance - Megan Viazanko- mviazanko@lexington1.net

Dance - Kara Corley - kccorley@lexington1.net

Band - Melanie Winn- mwinn@lexinton1.net

Art - June Collins - jcollins@lexington1.net

Art - Beth Maddox - bmaddox@lexington1.net

Chorus - Augie Gil- agil@lexington1.net

STEM - Cliff Roberts - cjroberts@lexington1.net

ICIVICS - Melody Shafer - mshafer@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Phillip Thomas - pthomas@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Stephen Harmon - srharmon@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed- Abby Chisholm - achisholm@lexington1.net

PE - Candice Cobb - ccobb@lexington1.net

PE - Ben Anderson- rbanderson2@lexington1.net

Digital Design - Ryan Panter - rpanter@lexington1.net

Supplemental Math - Ann Bennett - abennett@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Susan Myrick - smyrick@lexington1.net

Math RTI - Trisha Hamilton - thamilton@lexington1.net

ELA RTI - Rayna Kleckley - rkleckley@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Jennifer Williams - jbwilliams@lexington1.net


World Language

Latin - Jessica Stolebarger - jstolebarger@lexington1.net

French - Dr. Todd Spaulding - tspaulding@lexington1.net

French - Erin Hamner - ehamner@lexington1.net

French - Cheikh Fall - cfall@lexington1.net

French - Catherine Pontens-Alemu - cpontens-alemu@lexington1.net

Chinese - Na Zhang - nzhang@lexington1.net

Chinese - Susan Wang - ywang@lexington1.net

Chinese-Natalie Lukity - nlukity@lexington1.net

Spanish - Samantha Simmons - ssimmons@lexington1.net

Spanish - Valentina Salomon msalomon@lexington1.net

Spanish - Hilda Duarte - hduartegomez@lexington1.net

Spanish - Filder Segura - fsegura@lexington1.net

Thank you for sharing your children with us each day! We look forward to a great school year!