Connecting, Collaborating and Innovating

Leading From the Library: Connecting, Collaborating and Innovating

Where are we going with this year’s theme? We all do parts of this in our school settings but we need to expand on the connecting, collaborating and innovating not only in our schools but also at our community, state and national levels. Are you following other librarians, contributing to blogs or journals, becoming a member in another organization, or developing new goals for your school and media center?

Ruth Toor and Hilda K. Weisburg in their book Being Indispensable discussed what qualities make a good leader. The key ideas they mentioned were having a vision (innovating), strong communication skills (connecting) and flexibility, creativity, and trustworthiness (keys to collaborating).

Our conference will be a great place to start or expand your influence with David Lankes, Donalyn Miller and Michelle Luhtala giving us direction and inspiration. We want your ideas included too! Are you using social media to communicate or to instruct, are you collaborating in new ways or in different subject areas, are you trying out new ideas in your SLMC or participating in a community event? If so, as part of the NCSLMA team, you can help us all become better leaders in our schools and communities by sharing your ideas.


Thursday, Oct. 3rd 2013 at 7am to Saturday, Oct. 5th 2013 at 2:30pm

301 West 5th Street

Winston-Salem, NC


October 3 Pre-Conference
October 4 Opening Session, Concurrent Sessions
October 5 Toast and Tales Breakfast, Concurrent Sessions, Author Luncheon

Conference Author Highlights

Toast and Tales Breakfast Storyteller/Author: Joan Leotta

Closing Author Luncheon: Alex Flinn

Author Signing Reception

James Dean, the creator of Pete the Cat, and illustrator of Pete the Cat: I Love My White Shoes, our 2013 NCCBA winner in the Picture Book Category, will be attending our conference.

Wendy Mass - Our 2013 NCCBA winner in the Junior Book Category, Wendy Mass will be attending our conference to accept her NCCBA award for The Candymakers.