School Board Notes

May 2019

The Meeting in Review

The Board of School Directors approved the proposed final budget for the 2019-2020 school year of $112,424,029.78. If approved on June 18, 2019, this budget would reflect a millage increase of 1.8620%, which equates to $56.95 increase for a property valued at $200,000. The budgetary process for school districts requires that a proposed final budget be on display in advance of the school district’s final budget vote scheduled for June 18, 2019. The discussion by the Administration and the School Board Directors, based on actions taken during the May 22, 2019 voting meeting on personnel and other matters, is likely going to change the budget and those changes will be presented at the Finance Committee meeting of the Board on June 12, 2019, prior to being presented to the full Board for consideration.

Dr. Angstadt, Director of Pupil Services, and Dr. Mangano, Arcola Intermediate School Principal, provided the Board an update on the 2-year pilot program entitled, R.E.A.C.H (Raising Expectations and Children’s Hopes). This intensive, therapeutic mental health program provides a safe and supportive option for students in the school setting. Providing group and individual therapy support along with professional development for staff, the program is clearly making a positive impact on students, parents, and staff alike. There have been between 17 and 22 students in the program at various times throughout the past 6 months and the administration will be evaluating the expansion of the services to grade 6 and others over the next several months.

The Board of School Directors recognized 10 retirees that have given between 11 and 32 years of service to the students, staff and community of the Methacton School District. It is a tremendous opportunity to give thanks to these important contributors to the Pride of Methacton: Eileen Ammon, Janet Aureden, Mary Chantry, Noreen Fusco, Dennis Grady, Rosalynn Janssen, Mary Phelps, Monica Tarlecki, Barbara Tochterman, and Vincent Walker. We wish everyone the very best.

Big picture

Student School Board Representatives Saket Gokhale and Lauren McNichol were on hand at the Work Session for the annual signing of the first diplomas. Saket and Lauren will join over 380 students at graduation scheduled for Thursday June 13, 2019, beginning at 4PM at the high school stadium. Dr. Zerbe further recognized the dedication of the School Board, our staff, our volunteers, and our community in bringing forward such a tremendous senior class and how together, we Learn, Lead and Succeed.

All other items listed in the May 22, 2019 agenda were approved.

Award of Excellence

Five members of the Methacton School District staff were presented Awards of Excellence by Dr. Zerbe; Dr. Angstadt; Dr. Sosnovik, Director of Technology, Child Accountability & Safety; Mr. Bricker, Director of Business Services; and Ms. Burke, Aramark's Director of Food Services. This month's honorees are Nina Smith, Central Registration; Odell Dewalt, Custodian; Jack Shtofman, Facilities; Vince Broughton, First Student Dispatcher; and Lisa Gambone, Food Services. All of these outstanding staff members provide support for students, staff and community. They are valuable team members and we are pleased to share with everyone how much we appreciate their commitment to the students of the Methacton School District.

Big picture

"M" Awards

Mr. Matt Alzamora presented "M" Awards for Athletic Achievement to Methacton High School's Unified Track and Field team. Unified Sports is a program where students of all abilities can compete together. Methacton's Unified Track and Field team debuted in Spring of 2019, and participated in various home and away meets.
Big picture

2019 Best Communities for Music Education

Mr. Tom Kelly, Zeswitz Representative, presented Methacton School District with the NAMM Foundation 2019 Best Communities for Music Education award. Methacton has earned the designation for three years in a row. Methacton's music teachers were in attendance to accept the honor.
Big picture

Methacton Education Foundation

Mr. Jim Beam, Methacton Education Foundation President, and Ms. Nikki Krelovich, MEF Executive Director, presented a check to Methacton School District for $11,200. The award will go toward supporting Methacton's Electric Car Club, Robotics Club, College Tours, and Post Prom.

Big picture

May 16, 2019 Board Work Session

May 22, 2019 Regular Board Meeting

Board Notes

The Methacton School District's Board of School Directors meets each month. School board work session meetings are generally held on the third Tuesday of the month, followed by the regular meeting on the fourth Tuesday (except during the month of December). Regular Board and work session meetings typically take place in the MHS LGI, and all residents are invited to attend. Committee meetings may take place in the Board Room at the Farina Center, or the MHS LGI. Meeting agendas are posted to agenda manager, and start times and locations are posted on the District's website. Please confirm meeting time and location before attending. Download the meeting calendar here. Watch the meeting video online.