Virtual Board Briefs

Summary of the April 27, 2020 BOE meeting, held virtually

Board Briefs is a newsletter-style overview of the highlights of the Board of Education's discussion and action. You can find the meeting agenda online here, and look for minutes of the meeting to be posted after they are approved at the next BOE meeting (May 18, 2020).

The New Look for D34 Board Meetings

Big picture

Board President Opening Remarks

Board President Natalie Jachtorowycz pointed out that the last Board of Education meeting was on March 16, the day before the primary election. She said that the passing of the referendum was an historic moment for District 34 and the community and thanked those who worked to support the needs of the schools. She pointed out that many bright spots have appeared over the weeks, including the video by Hoffman teachers Katie Mies, Alex Virlas and Matt Vitacco, which was picked up by Good Morning America. She encouraged community members to visit District 34's Facebook page for more good news stories, including a lip dub video from Attea teachers and staff.
The Volume Song
Attea Lip Dub 2020 - "Keep Your Head Up" (Andy Grammer) - Used with Permission

Superintendent's Reflections

Each month, Superintendent Dr. Dane Delli updates the Board of Education and the community about programs, events, notable achievements, and other timely information and celebrations.
Dr. Delli thanked not only those community members who worked in support of the referendum, but also all citizens who took the time to learn about District 34 throughout the community engagement process leading up to the referendum vote. He assured the community that the District is committed to using taxpayer dollars wisely.

He explained that as E-Learning continues, the District will share information about end-of-year activities and events. He commended the teachers and the members of the E-Learning Team who developed the structure of the D34 E-Learning program and continue to add to it.

Dr. Delli said that Friday, May 1 is School Lunch Hero Day, and our food service staff has been working hard to provide meals for students in need each week.


The Board approved the consent agenda, which included a personnel report, payroll and vendor warrants and reading resource purchase. The Board also approved amendments to transportation contracts.

The personnel report included the approval of the new principal at Westbrook, and assistant principals for student services at Westbrook and Lyon. Executive Director for Human Resources Dr. Heather Hopkins introduced the new leadership:

  • Westbrook Principal Patrick Hoeft moves from the role of assistant principal for student. services at Westbrook to principal.
  • Westbrook Assistant Principal Martha Rode and Lyon Assistant Principal Dr. Amanda Spychalski join District 34 with extensive leadership and special education experience.

They being their new roles on July 1.


Update: District 34 E-Learning

Assistant Superintendent for Teaching & Learning Dr. Matt Silverman, Executive Director for Student Services Mary Geraghty and Executive Director for Instructional Innovation Brian Engle all commended the work of teachers and the E-Learning Team, and pointed to the primary focus on addressing the health, safety and welfare of students. Mary Geraghty commended the student services team for coming together to support the needs of students receiving special education services and ensuring compliance with IEPs. Brian Engle emphasized that no home environment is the same and that our E-Learning environment is a balanced and flexible approach to provide options that work for families and teachers in many different situations.

"Our number one focus is on the social-emotional needs of our students in this most unique time," said Engle.

Summer Construction

Assistant Superintendent of Business Services Eric Miller gave an update on the summer 2020 construction work approved by the Board last year. He said that as a result of the referendum, some of the scope of the summer work was removed, reducing the cost by about $340K.

Post-Referendum Planning

The architects picked up from the schematic design work done to inform the referendum, and the work soon will move into the estimation period. Bids are expected in November for work taking place in the summer of 2021.

Middle School Schedule Changes

Attea Principal Mark Richter and Springman Principal Jason Kaiz gave a presentation on the changes to the middle school schedule that will take place starting at the beginning of the 2020-2021 school year.

They explained the process that began in 2017 with the Time & Learning Task Force to address several priorities:

  • Creating a consistent daily schedule
  • English Language Arts becoming one block with integrated reading and writing instruction
  • Math every day
  • More student choice
  • Longer blocks

They said that the changes that take place in 2020-2021 focus on B Blocks; additional changes will happen the following year to A Blocks (exploratory class offerings, how global language is delivered and how band, orchestra and chorus are structured).

The new schedule includes an increase in instructional minutes overall, and a significant increase in math instruction time. It also provides a consistent time for school-wide social-emotional learning so all staff can be involved, lowering the class sizes for this instruction. The task force extensively reviewed the time allotment for lunch and recess and determined that the current time fits best in the new schedule.

Financial Projections

Board members asked about the impact of the statewide shutdown on the financial projections. Mr. Miller explained that there are projected savings due to underutilized expenses. He also said that there will be little impact in the short term on revenue, but there likely will be longer-term impacts from lower property tax collections, lower fee collections, property value reassessments and lower CPI.

Meet the Board of Education

D34 Board Community Strong

Glenview District 34 is governed by a seven-person Board of Education, elected by the community, that consists of the following individuals:

  • Natalie Jachtorowycz (President)
  • Jim Baumstark (Vice President)
  • John Heggie
  • Katie Jones
  • Mike Korman
  • Scott Nelson
  • Diane Stefani

You can contact the Board at