By Bridget H


Greece got independence from the Ottoman Empire in 1830. In World War II (1940), Italy invaded Greece. Greece was occupied by Germany from 1941-1944. They then joined NATO in 1952. In 1974, democratic elections and a refurendum created a parliamentary republic, and abolished the monarchy. In 1981, Greece joined the EU and became the 12th member of the European Economic and Monetary Union in 2001.

Year of joining the European Union:

1981 (Not one of the founders)


39 00 N, 22 00 E




The cross symbolizes Greek Orthodoxy, the established religion of Greece. There is no agreed upon meaning for the 9 stripes or for the colors (blue & white).
Big image

Major Cities:





Surrounding Places:



•Southern Europe

•Aegean Sea

•Ionian Sea

•Mediterranean Sea


Government Type:

Parliamentary Republic: type of republic that operates under a parliamentary system of government where the executive branch derives its legitmacy from and is accountable to the legislature.


Greece uses Euros, but before, they used Drachma banknotes.
Big image
Big image

Physical Features:

Interesting Facts:

•The first Olympics were held in Greece

•Greece is one of the oldest countries in Europe

•The National Anthem has a total of 158 verses