School Board Meeting Highlights



For a complete agenda, please visit us at:
All motions were approved.

Student and Staff Recognition

1. PHS Principal Jim Moniz introduced Strings Director Brian Mishler and the ORCHESTRA Award recipients:

ALL STATE: Natalie Golovanov, Aathira Jayamohan, Conrad Lee, Christina Park, Max Stempel, and Jacob Schultz


2. Jim Moniz introduced Director of Bands Jason Lerew and the BAND Award recipients:

ALL STATE: Serena Vrablik

ALL EASTERN: Max Stempel


Note: Grace Lerew and Max Stempel also made All State Band, but since they can participate in only one, Grace did All State Chorus and Max did All State Orchestra this year.

3. Jim Moniz introduced Richard Shemonsky, Christopher Barrett and Linda LaDue and this year’s PHS NATIONAL SCHOLASTIC ART Winners:

Nadim Amin, Baltazar Belman, Jonathan Corby, Tyler Krisher, Maya Rodgers

OMS Assistant Principal Monica Ouly introduced Kristi Robbins, Laura Bauer and this year’s MIDDLE SCHOOL NATIONAL SCHOLASTIC ART winners: Alexis Dawkins and Haley Wagner

4. Jim Moniz introduced teacher Sean Flueso and Yogeshwar Velingker for earning a GOLD MEDAL AT THE US PHYSICS OLYMPIAD.

5. Jim Moniz introduced Calliope Volikas and this year’s NATIONAL HISTORY DAY winners Alex Fry and Katrina Olenwine, who earned first place for their group website called "The Monuments Men."

Monica Ouly introduced Amy Miller and Tanya Mehta, for taking second place at the state level History Day competition for her website, "Changing the Face of Medicine: Elizabeth Blackwell.”

SMS Principal Dr. Michelle Minotti introduced Josh Abrams and Ankhitha Manjunatha and Akshatha Manjunatha who won Group Website, 1st place for “Clara Barton: The Angel Standing to Break Boundaries, Administer Relief, and Save Lives.”

6. Rich Sniscak recognized PHS Senior Stephanie Klotz, this year’s STUDENT REP TO THE BOARD.

Business Meeting

John Vignone gave a Proposed General Fund Budget Presentation which the School Board approved 8-0. View the timeline here. View the Budget overview here. PDE official budget document can be viewed here. Board President David M. Kennedy expressed appreciation for all that Mr. Vignone and the team did to put the budget document and annual presentations together. The press release can be viewed here.


Foundation Update

At the May 1 Distinguished Alumni Gala, American Bank Chairman, President and CEO, Mark Jaindl, announced the bank’s pledge to match any donation made to the Education Foundation between May 1 and December 31, 2017, up to $25,000. The Foundation is grateful for American Bank’s generosity. To help us meet American Bank’s pledge, members of the Parkland community, alumni, parents, retirees and friends are invited to donate online at or mail a donation to Parkland SD Education Foundation here at the Administration Center.

Between now and June 2, the Foundation is conducting an End-of-the-Year Staff Tribute flower sale, inviting parents to make a $10 donation to the Foundation in honor of a teacher or staff member who impacted their child this school year. The Foundation will then deliver flowers with a note to the staff the last week of school. More information can be found here.


Lisa Roth and Rob Cohen did not approve the payments to the Cyber Charter Schools noting that they feel that the underperforming schools do not deserve to be funded with public tax dollars.


The Board said it was wonderful to see the students tonight. They noted highlights of the month - the Arts Festival and Post Prom - super events that are great for kids and our community. They said it is an absolute joy to hear about the accomplishments of the students.

Rich and John thanked the Board for their support of the Proposed Final Budget. He commended PHS on a wonderful Academic Awards Night Program stating that he was amazed at the Class of 2017's diverse talents and that it was neat to see so many students choose to attend colleges around the country.

Public Meetings about the New Elementary School will take place this week on May 24 and 25 at 7 PM at Jaindl and Fogelsville Schools respectively.

Graduation is at 7 PM on June 12 at PPL Center.

Next Meeting: June 20, 2017 at 7 PM (Workshop) and 8 PM (Regular Meeting)