By Jaycie Fetter

Alcohol Related Crashes

The number of alcohol related crashes went down to approximately 10,550 between 2013 and 2014. 13% of driver deaths in the 16-20 age groups were drinking and driving. That number went down 19% between 2013 and 2014. 333 people died in 2014 due to alcohol related crashes, 74% of alcohol related crashes had men behind the wheel. On average each day, 29 alcohol related traffic crashes occur, 0.9 people are killed due to alcohol related crashes, and 20 people are injured due to alcohol related crashes. Such crashes are about 4.1 times more likely to result in death than those not related to alcohol. This is because drunk drivers are more likely to speed, overestimate turns, and have slower reaction times. Some Alcohol related crashes are PDO. (Property Damage Only)


  • 2010 had the highest number of fatal, alcohol related crashes
  • 2010 had the highest number of alcohol related deaths
  • 311 alcohol related crashes occurred
  • 2010 had the highest amount of alcohol related injuries.
  • 282 passengers in the car with a drunk driver died in crashes
  • 41% of alcohol related deaths occur on holiday weekends.
  • Labor day has the highest death rate due to alcohol use.
  • the age groups 21-25 have the highest amount of drunk drivers
  • The total number of alcoholic crashes for males (all ages) is 7,592
  • The total number of alcoholic crashes for females (all ages) is 2,666

The Majority of fatal traffic deaths related to alcohol occur between 8:oo am and 4:oo pm. More fatal non-alcohol related crashes happen between 12:oo pm. Most fatal alcohol related crashes occur on Saturdays.

Underage Drinking and DUI

You cannot legally drink or purchase alcohol in the state of Pennsylvania if you are under the age of 21. If you get caught in possession of an alcoholic beverage, drinking, transporting, or purchasing alcohol under the age of 21, you can be arrested. If convicted of underage drinking, you can be fined up to $300, jailed for 90 days, or both. If convicted you will have a criminal record and lose your driver's license for 90 days. If you get caught driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) it is a second degree misdemeanor, you can get fined up to $5,000 and spend up to 2 years in jail. If you are tried and convicted you must pay a minimum fine of $300 and spend at least 48 hours in jail, you will also lose your licence for at least 3 months to 1 year.Any person under 21 can be arrested and charged with a DUI if there is any measurable amount of alcohol in their system (0.02) due to Pennsylvania's zero tolerance law.

Underage drinking: Myth or Fact

Myth: Alcohol isn't as harmful as other drugs

Fact: Alcohol increases your risk for many deadly diseases such as cancer. Drinking too much alcohol can cause alcohol poisoning which can result in death.

Myth: Drinking will make me cool.

Fact: There's nothing cool about stumbling around, passing out, or throwing up. It can also cause bad breath and weight gain.

Myth: Drinking is a good way to loosen up at parties

Fact: Drinking is a dumb way to loosen up. It can make you act silly, say things you shouldn't say, and do things you wouldn't normally do.

Myth: All of the other kids drink alcohol, I need to drink to fit in.

Fact: If you really want to fit in, stay sober. Most youth don't drink. 70% of youth haven't touched a drink in the past month.