Maslow's Theory Coming Soon.....

By De'ja Ramsey

Maslow's Theory

Maslow's Theory or Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs is a five stage model explaining needs that should be met by a person. In 1943 Abraham Maslow wanted to let the world know about five motivational needs called the hierarchy of needs. To him one must satisfy lower level basic needs before continuing on to meet higher level growth needs. Maslow noted only one in a hundred people become fully self-actualized because our society rewards motivation primarily based on esteem, love and other social needs.

First Level: Physiological Needs

Physical needs are the requirements of life so that you can survive. These needs are usually the first goals that need to be met in life. Examples of physical needs are air, water, food, shelter, warmth, sleep,etc.

Second Level: Safety Needs

This level pertains more to children than anyone. The reason being is because they can not really take care of their selves. Safety can be anything with locking your doors and putting an helmet on when riding a bike. Examples of safety needs are personal security, financial security, health and well-being, and safety nets against accidents.

Third Level: Love and Belonging Needs

This level contains you being in your feelings. This level includes friendship and relationships that really mean something. Examples of love and belonging are friendship, intimacy, and family.

Fourth Level: Esteem Needs

Esteem presents the typical human desire to be accepted and valued by others. A lot of things and events can hinder you from getting into the right set of self-esteem. Examples of esteem needs are strength, mastery, self-confidence, independence, and freedom.

Fifth Level: Self Actualiztion

This level refers to what a person's potential is and the realization of that potential. Individuals may perceive or focus on this need very specifically. Examples of self actualization are realizing personal potential, self- fulfillment, seeking personal growth, and peak experiences.