November 5th Jefferson Journal

Newsletter Nov 5th

Wausau Pilot Article

WAUSAU – Thomas Jefferson Elementary School in Wausau has been placed among the top 30 percent of elementary schools in Wisconsin by U.S. News & World Report. That makes it a U.S. News Best Elementary School, the Wausau School District announced today.


“I am so proud of what we do here at Thomas Jefferson. It is amazing what a hardworking bunch of passionate students, parents and staff can do when we all work together,” Thomas Jefferson Principal Brent Johnson said in a news release. “If the last two years have taught us anything it is that schools are vitally and impactfully connected to our communities. I hope the work we do here at Thomas Jefferson has a positive ripple effect on our entire community and makes everyone proud to be a Jaguar.”


According to U.S. News & World Report, Thomas Jefferson ranks No. 157 out of 1,030 elementary schools in Wisconsin. Performance on state-required tests, graduation and how well they prepare students for high school were all taken into account.


“The Wausau School District congratulates Principal Mr. Brent Johnson, his staff, and most importantly the students and families of Thomas Jefferson Elementary School for this recognition,” said Wausau Superintendent of Schools Keith Hilts. “We know the staff are focused on doing what is best for students and they support each other through the collaborative use of best educational practices. We are proud of all of our schools’ efforts and take this moment to celebrate all that is right with public education.”

Please click below to watch the Channel 7 news report

Upcoming Events

November 5th: 3rd Grade visits the School Forest

November 8th: 5:30pm PTO meeting in the Library

November 11th: Bridging Brighter Smiles at school

November 18th: Hmong New Year Celebration 5:30-6:30

November 24th, 25th, 26th: NO SCHOOL


Kaum Ib Hli 5: Qaib 3 Moog tom School Forest

Kaum Ib Hli 8: Muaj Saablaaj PTO hu Library 5:30 tsaus ntuj

Kaum Ib Hli 11: Kuaj Nav tom tsev kawm ntawv

Kaum Ib Hli 18 Hmoob Noj Peb Caug 5:30-6:30 tsaus ntuj

Kaum Ib Hli 24, 25, 26: TSI MUAJ KAWM NTAWV



Remember to check out the Thomas Jefferson School calendar on the website.to view what is going on at the school. The button below will take you to the calendar.

PTO Information

Next Meeting November 8th 5:30pm in the Library


Please check out these opportunities to help out with the PTO!!

1.) Please fill out your background check so you can volunteer: Volunteer

2.) Follow on Facebook: Thomas Jefferson Jaguars PTO

Thomas Jefferson Teacher and Staff would like to say THANK YOU to everyone that donated treats during the Parent/Teacher Conference. The potato bar was wonderful and so were all the treats and appetizers. Your thoughtfulness is very much appreciated. Thank you to the following people Melissa B. Natthasinee K., Trinity G, Lisa C, Lindsay W., Rachel B., Kelly P., Aimee H., Megan I., & Sara B. and anyone else that is not listed.


Missing Crockpot: If you picked up a crockpot from the Teachers Lounge that is not yours please return it to the office. It has a name on it. Please check out your Crockpot. Thank You

Playground Information

The cold Wisconsin weather is almost here! Parents....PLEASE make sure your child is dressed appropriately for the playground.

When there is snow on the ground, students MUST be wearing ALL OF the "Magic 5" to play in the snow: 1) Warm jacket 2) Hat 3) Mittens/gloves 4) Boots 5) Snow pants. We want our students to be safe and warm at recess!!!

Returning back to school from Quarantine

If your student has been Quarantined because of being ill and they received a negative PCR Covid test or alternate medical diagnosis from a medical practitioner, please send test results and any medical documentation to our Health Aide, Megan Bach, at mbach@wausauschools.org . Please contact Megan and send the test results and medical documentation BEFORE sending your student back to school. Any questions, please email Megan and/or call the Health Office at 715-261-0186.

Thank you so much!!

Leader in Me

Big picture
Big picture

Bridging Brighter Smiles

Bridging Brighter Smiles is holding their next dental clinic at Thomas Jefferson Elementary:

Thursday, November 11, 2021

It is not too late to enroll! Get your Fall smiles ready!

Sign up online at:

http://enrollment.bbsmiles.org/

Professional Dental Services Provided Right at School Include:

  • Oral Screening
  • Dental Cleaning
  • Fluoride Varnish Application
  • Dental Sealant Placement
  • Silver Diamine Fluoride Application
  • Oral Health Education
  • Referral Assistance

Forward Health (BadgerCare) Accepted!

(Other Private Dental Insurance Not Accepted)

Not sure if your child is enrolled, or due for care? Call Bridging Brighter Smiles at 262-896-9891, or email coordinator@bbsmiles.org.


SPANISH TRANSLATION

¡Reciba atención dental en la escuela!

El programa Bridging Brighter Smiles ofrece:

  • Examen Oral
  • Limpieza
  • Aplicadorde Flúor(decaimiento prevención)
  • Selladores(cavidad prevención)
  • Fluoride Diamino de Plata
  • Educación para la Salud Dental
  • Referencia de Ayuda

Bridging Brighter Smiles ofreces servicios de prevención dental en lasescuelas para estudiantes desde Pre-K hasta 12 grado.

En promedio, el servicio es dado a los estudiantes participantes dos o tres veces por año escolar.

https://enrollment.bbsmiles.org/sp/

Forward Health(BadgerCare) acepta!

(No aceptamos seguros dentales privados)

INFORMACIÓN DE CONTACTO

Si tiene preguntas o preocupaciones sobre sus derechos de privacidad contenidos en esta Notificación, favor de contactarse alOficial de Privacidad de Bridging Brighter Smiles al 262-896-9891.

Big picture

Important information needed

If you have a phone number or address that changes please contact the school office at 715-261-0175 or email tsteckling@wausauschools.org. It is very important that we have correct phone numbers and addresses on file.
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

Link to WSD Covid Dashboard, Elementary and Secondary Matrices

As we enter the 2021-22 school year, the Wausau School District is offering the highest quality educational experience for students. We are taking several steps to monitor and mitigate the spread of COVID. We are also taking steps to minimize the time lost to quarantines.

We are working with the Marathon County Health Department to monitor and mitigate the spread of the virus in our community and our schools and will revisit our protocols as necessary at any point during the school year. Public health is a whole community effort and the District can not be successful on our own. Below are some practices that families can take, as well as, the school district.

Wausau School District COVID-19 Information

COVID-19 DASHBOARD COVID-19 GUIDELINES COVID-19 MITIGATION STRATEGIES UPDATE

Big picture
Big picture

Bussing Questions??

We are happy to help answer bussing questions as best we can. Often times, however, First Student Bus Company is your best first contact.


First Student Contact Information:

715-842-2268 Phone

715-845-5155 Fax


First Student policy required ALL bus riders to wear a face mask. If your student is a bus rider, please make sure they have a mask for the before and after school bus ride.


Field Trips require all riders to wear a mask. Please remember to have a couple masks in your students backpack so they are prepared when attending field trips.

Staff Directory

Principal Mr. Johnson bsjohnson@wausauschools.org

Secretary Mrs. Tammy Steckling tsteckling@wausauschools.org

Building/ Office para Mrs. Colette Tranchita ctranchita@wausauschools.org


Health Aid:

Ms. Megan Bach- mbach@wausauschools.org


Pupil Services

Counselor: Ms. Sue Doerr sdoerr@waususchools.org

Social worker: Mrs. Morgan Knetter mknetter@wausauschools.org

Psychologist: Mrs. Amanda Melville amelvill@wausauschools.org

Bridge Room Coordinator: Ms. Amber Sparby asparby@wausauschools.org


4K Staff

Mrs. Amber Channel achannel@wausauschools.org

Ms. Samantha Kniess skniess@wausauschools.org

Mrs. BreAnne Wais bwais@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Renee Krautkramer rkrautkr@wausauschools.org

Mrs. May Xiong maxiong@wausauschools.org


Kindergarten Teachers

Mrs. April Voigt avoigt@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Kelly Hummel khummel@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Katelyn Veith. kveith@wausauschools.org


1st Grade Teachers

Mrs. Diana Gartzke dgartzke@wausauschools.org

Mrs Deb Treager dtreager@wausauschools.org

Mr. Matt Schilling mschilling@wausauschools.org


2nd Grade Teachers

Mrs. Diane Eder deder@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Carrie Helke cahelke@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Taylor Frank tfrank@wausauschools.org


3rd Grade Teachers

Mrs. Jill Ebersold jebersol@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Sandy Knoll sknoll@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Heather Trollop htrollop@wausauschools.org


4th Grade Teachers

Mrs. Leslie Ninnemann lninnema@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Kary Riggs kriggs@wausauschools.org


5the Grade Teachers

Mrs. Jen Davidson jdavidso@wausauschools.org

Ms. Emily Fritz efritz@wausauschools.org


Encore Team

Art- Jennifer Lingford jlingford@wausauschools.org

Gym- Christin Sullivan csulliv@wausauschools.org

Science- Tori Dienger vdienger@wausauschools.org

Music- Sana Wressell swressel@wausauschools.org

Library- Jennifer Moore jmoore@wausauschools.org


Special Education

Mrs. Justine Callahan jcallahan@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Kim Ickert kickert@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Jennifer Faust jfaust@wausauschools.org


Gifted & Talented

Mrs. Cheryl Borta- cborta@wausauschools.org


EL

Mrs. Paokee Xiong. paxiong@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Lisa Alexander lalexand@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Halle Veenstra- hveenstr@wausauschools.org


Title I

Mrs. Amy Akey- aabitzak@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Trenny Frahm- tfrahm@wausauschools.org


Speech

Mrs. Michelle Debot mdebot@wausauschools.org


Translation support

Mrs. Eileen Thao ethao@wausauschools.org

The Wausau School District does not discriminate on the basis of race, age, color, religion, national origin, ancestry, creed, pregnancy, marital status, parental status, sexual orientation, sex (including transgender status, change of sex or gender identity), or physical, mental, emotional, or learning disability (“Protected Classes”).