Actions & Agendas

A summary of recent School Board action

Board meeting summary, May 12, 2020

View the meeting live via online webstreaming or watch archived meetings here. Meetings are currently being held virtually via Google Meet.

Termination of probationary staff

Due to decreases/changes in enrollment, elimination of positions, uncertainty of funding, lack of funds, performance or return from leave of senior teachers, the Board voted to terminate one probationary teacher.

Final placement of certified staff on unrequested leave

At the April 14 meeting, the Board approved a proposal to place a number of certified staff on unrequested leave of absence for the 2020-21 school year. Since that meeting, one of the teachers or learning resource teachers who were included in the proposal requested a hearing. Failure to request a hearing is deemed acquiescence to the proposed action; therefore three learning resource teachers were placed on unrequested leave of absence.

Approval of transportation service agreements

Executive director of administrative services Carole Nielsen reported that the District has established transportation service agreements with multiple service providers. The Board voted to approve the student transportation type III service agreements with R and D Transportation, Twin City Transportation, Safe-Tree Transportation and United Transportation Services, LLC for two contract years commencing on August 1, 2020, and ending July 31, 2022, with an option to extend for an additional two one-year contract years.

2019-20 District Operational Plan update

Superintendent Lennox provided Board members with an update on the 2019-20 District Operational Plan (DOP). Lennox noted that with the COVID-19 pandemic, the DOP had been updated to remove three goals that were unable to be met due to the pandemic and that one goal had been added as the District had to move to distance learning. The Board voted to approve the 2019-20 District Operational Plan as amended.


The Board discussed issues and updates related to Northeast Metro 916 and AMSD.

Thank you

The Board accepted with appreciation gifts from Michele Milan, Carol Ducharme, Leighton Donovan, Coca Cola Give – King Solutions Inc, 3M Charities Foundation, Alerus Mortgage -Cheryl Hoban, Centennial United Methodist Church Roseville -Heidi Simons and Lisa Schuler, Christ the King Lutheran Church – Gary Floss and CTK Foundation, Church of the Redeemer, Kathryn and Wayne Damerow Foundation, Faith United Methodist Church -Pastor Diane Christianson, Friends of the Poor – Vietnam -Sister Rose Vu, Hunger Solutions Minnesota -Joe Walker, Incarnation Lutheran Church -Laurel Engelman and Becky Benson, Kiwanis Club of North Suburban Golden K -Don Engel and Kiwanis Members, Messiah Lutheran Church -Allison Burkow and Heather McAllister, MN Health Insurance Agency LLC, Multi-Tech Systems -Terry Boe, New Brighton/Mounds View Rotary, North American Banking Company -Michael Bilski, North Suburban Edina Realty -Kevin Miller, Pinewood PTA, Presbyterian Church of the Way -Amy Davies and Pastor Parker, Pursuit Community Church -Pastor Mark, Shoreview Community Foundation -Sue Knudson, St. John the Baptist Catholic Church -Teri Shea, St. Odilia Catholic Church -Jim Saumweber, Stonehouse Custom Catering -Lisa Stonehouse, Sunrise United Methodist Church, Tradition Capital Bank -Lauren Withers, United Church of Christ New Brighton -Pastor Amy and Jo Broberg, Valentine Hills PTO, Joyce Ahlstrom, Mary Anderson, Craig Atkinson, Sonja Bornus, Doug & Julie Bowman, Ruth and James Bowyer, Jennifer & Brian Bradway, Brent Nordquist, Sharon Carlson and Joanne Christians, Heidi and Jey Carlson, Carol Christie, Christopher McCaffrey, Elaine & Foster Cole, Jacob Conklin, Deron Vaupel, Erin Derubeis, Beth and Mike Donahue, Rodger Erickson, Patrick Gray, Carol Green, Diane & David Grigal, Peter Grottodden, David Haas, John & Rosemary Hunt, Isaac Scanlon, Jean and John Isaksen Fund, Jennifer Sandell, Jennifer Sayre, Joel Strauch, Benjamen & Michelle Johnson, Joshua Milligan, Karen Hummel, Karl Eckberg, Janet and Alan, Michael Hatts and Katy Kauls, Kirk Livingston, Stephen and Sheila Kleitz, Kathryn Kohler-Ernst, Jeffrey Kueng, Sally & Daniel Larson, Lea Hoyhta, Linda Busby, Mark Limkeman, Mark Solfest, Mark Stellmack, Martie & Don Martin, Lisa and Greg Mattson, Amy and Kevin McNabb, Andrew Minion, Doris Mundl, Nancy Hedman, Nancy Nielsen, Omar Awad, Daniel and Catherine Onkka, Paul Mitchell, Peter Stadler, Gloria Pettis, Harry Puryear, Toni Rahn, Shelley Renner, Robert and Penny Whereatt, Richard and Sylvia Rog, Lori Schneider, Sheena Pickens, Cheryl and Timothy Skildum, Alicia and David Smith, Barbara Stack, Steven Garbe, Mary Ann Stevenson, Jeanne and Don Szurek, Phillip Thompson, Stephen and Noreen Thompson, Jean and David Tillman, Paul & Ruth Tillquist, Timothy Leverentz, anonymous, Misti and Dallan Van Laar, Nancy Victora, Susan Viergever, Laurie Hauser Vinyon, Mary Whalen, Kathleen Willette, Michelle and Jonathan Wood and Susanne & Anton Yerich.

A look ahead

June 9, 7 p.m., regular meeting​

June 23, 7 p.m., regular meeting​

Para asistencia en traducciones ó ayuda como intérprete, por favor comuníquese con Angel Toro al 651-724-2854. Yog xa tau kev pab thiab hais ua lus Hmoob thov hu rau Mee Yang ntawm 651-724-0396. Haddi aad ubaahantahay faahfaahin dheerad ah ama turjumaad, fadlan kala soo xiriir Basima Mohamed, taleefanka 651-724-7482.