AASL Standards

By: Ms. Gwendolyn Acosta

AASL Standards - American Association of School Librarians

The role of a school librarian/media specialist is to support both the students and the teachers. They are watchful eye and overseer of the triad. A triangle is a very strong figure. A triangle can only be formed when you have each side working together. When you have students, teachers, and librarians working together with the same goals in mind, it becomes the structure for the success today's 21st Century Learner. The AASL Standards is the foundation that this structure is built upon.

The Building Blocks of 21st Century Learning

AASL Standards

The AASL Standards are the guidelines used by school librarians/media specialists to promote and help ensure the academic success of 21st Century Learners. From tech tools, to research, to inquiry, and citing, the four pillars of the AASL Standards are the structural elements that support, teach, and reinforce the necessary skills and strategies needed today, tomorrow, and for years to come.

AASL Standard 1

Inquire, think critically, and gain knowledge.

AASL Standard 2

Draw conclusions, make informed decisions, apply knowledge to new situations, and create new knowledge.

AASL Standard 3

Share knowledge and participate ethically and productively as members of our democratic society.

Teacher Librarians at The Heart of Student Learning
Big image

Farmer Foster

Farmer Foster is the expert of Standard 4 . Her motto is..."Plant the seeds and you will grow & flourish into a lifelong learner". Farmer Foster promotes leisure reading, creative writing, participating in book clubs and blogs. She encourages & fosters strong "roots" of reading such as "weeding out " information, making connections, determining importance, and expressing oneself through learning experiences. Standards 4 fosters and nurtures personal growth.

AASL Standard 4

Inquire, think critically, and gain knowledge.