Karen Teague

Honors World History, 1st Period

My Background

I was born in Athens, Greece because my father was career Navy. I have one brother, nine years older. We lived in Greece for six months before being moved to Rhota, Spain. I lived in Spain until I was almost five years old. At this point we were stationed in Charleston, SC. We actually lived in Summerville and I consider myself a true southern girl. I graduated from Summerville High School in 1992 with 676 other students. I went to Winthrop University for two years, a tech school in Lawrenceville, Georgia for a year, and finally graduated from Lander University after two years with a BS in History. I earned my MEd. from the University of Phoenix in Curriculum and Instruction in 2009 and another MEd. in Administration and Supervision the following year. I worked in Kershaw County at Camden Middle School for my first two years of teaching before moving to Laurens County to be near my husband's family. I taught at Laurens Middle School, Laurens District 55 High School, and Laurens Preparatory School before moving to Emerald High in 2013.

My Family

I am married to a Laurens County Sheriff's Deputy who works at the Laurens Detention Center as a visitation officer. He also teaches the Adult Ed program at the Detention Center. I have three children: Philip (15), Jackie (14), and Mark (10). Philip is a high school sophomore at LDHS. He is interested in engineering (robotics) and plays in the LDHS Marching Band. Jackie is a high school freshman at LDHS. She is involved in student government, marching band, and cheerleading. Mark is in fifth grade in Laurens. He is interested in video games and engineering.


Both of parents are deceased. My mother passed away when I was 11 and my father the year my oldest son was born. My one brother lives in McClellanville, SC on the coast. This is a small town just south of Georgetown before you get to Mt Pleasant. He owns a commercial fishing dock with his father-in-law. They sell seafood to area restaurants and individuals. My sister-in-law is a librarian at the elementary school in the town. I have a 20 year old nephew and 15 year old niece.


I live next to my in-laws on family property. My husband's brother and his family live on the other side of them. They have two daughters - age 15 and 11.

Important Contact Information

Email: teaguek@gwd50.org

Phone number: (864) 941-5730