Child Labor Laws

By: De'Ja Andrews

Child Labor Laws in Georgia

Approximately 80% of all students work sometime during high school. Georgia's child labor law was written in 1878. The Georgia Department of Labor Child Labor section monitors the guidelines and restrictions for the employment of youth who have not yet reached their 18th birthday and performs the following functions ; Reviews all issued Employment Certificates, commonly called Work Permits, to ensure job duties do not appear to be in violation of the law and that the form has been properly completed; Conducts inspections of possible law violations; Issues Certificates of Consent for minors in entertainment; and Makes child labor presentations to schools, employers, and other interested parties.

Another state that makes a pretty big deal about child labor laws is Florida. In the state of Florida students May NOT work during school hours unless they meet a criterion of the Hour Restrictions. Students may only work up to 15 hours per week. Not before 7 a.m. or after 7 p.m. and for no more than 3 hours a day on school days, when

a school day follows. Students may work up to 8 hours on Friday, Saturday,

Sunday, and on non-school days, when school days do not follow, until

9 p.m.

What are Child Labor Laws?

Child labor laws are all about protecting children in the work force by restricting the amount of hours and different times they are allowed to work.


Italian law stipulates that children may be employed full-time once they have finished compulsory schooling. However, children ages 15 and up are eligible for part-time employment. Under Italian law, citizens must be at least 18 years of age to enter into a legal contract, though the law extends full rights and protection for contracted employees under the age of 18. A law introduced in 1999 stipulates that children must be deemed medically fit to work and will be subjected to periodical health checks to insure the work is not negatively impacting the child.


Switzerland enacted its first child labor law in 1815, at a time when children in most other European nations were working twelve-hour days in industrial factories. The minimum age for employment in Switzerland is 15 years old. Exceptions are made for children ages 13-15, who are permitted to work in minimally stressful environments for no more than nine hours per week during the school year and 15 hours per week when school is not in session. Child labor laws in Switzerland protect workers up to 20 years of age.