By T Saunders, 1st period

In the Islam religion the followers are called Muslims. Muslims worship and pray to God (Allah). Muslims believe in only one God. The main teaching of the Islam religion is to worship God (Allah) and learn about Mohammad. The Islam religion believes in set of mandatory acts called The Five Pillars. The Five Pillars are Shahadan (Declaring no other God but Allah and Mohammad as his messenger), Salat (Praying five times a day), Sawn (Fasting and self control during Ramadan), Zahat (Giving 2.5% to the poor), and Hajj (Making a pilgrimage to Mecca at least once in a lifetime). Muslims practice their religion inside a mosque. The Muezzin calls the Muslims into the mosque. The religious leader is called an Imam. The Islamic holy book is called the Koran. The Koran contains what Muslims believe in. The two main Islamic Holy Days are called the Hijri New Year (Ras as-Sanah al Hijriyah) and Ramadan. Hijri New Year is the day that marks the beginning of the Islamic calendar year. Ramadan is the ninth month of the Islamic calendar. Muslims observe Ramadan by fasting from dawn to sunset. During Ramadan, Muslims also increase their prayers and recitation of the Koran. A holy place for Muslims is the city of Mecca.

Islamic Call to Prayer - [Islam Calls You]