MGM 6th Grade House News

August 30, 2018

Welcome!

Welcome to 6th Grade! Please read below for house news, upcoming assessments, and 6th-grade house highlights! These newsletters will be sent out every week on Friday!

Follow Us!

Please keep up with news and happenings at MGMS by following us on social media. Check us out at:


Facebook @mgmsgators

Twitter @mgmgators

Instagram @mgmgators

School website: mgms.lexington1.net

Teacher Contact Information

Please contact your child's teacher if you have any questions or concerns.

Administration

Dr Bill Coon - bcoon@lexington1.net

Dr. Kyle Meetze - kmeetze@lexington1.net

Jamie Powell-jpowell@lexington1.net

Alisa Long- aklong@lexington1.net


School Counseling

Laura Stockdell- lstockdell@lexington1.net


House Leader

Tracey West - twest@lexington1.net


Content Area Teachers:

ELA

Claire Calcina- ccalcina@lexington1.net

Mindy Matthews - mhmatthews@lexington1.net

Matt Bonte'- mbonte@lexington1.net

Social Studies

Courtney Garrison -cgarrison@lexington1.net

Ryan Miles - rmiles@lexington1.net

Sarah Huey-Clowney - shuey-clowney@lexington1.net

Science

Patrick Burnett- pburnett@lexington1.net

Sara Loper - sloper@lexington1.net

Dr Jessica Quinton - jquinton@lexington1.net

Math

Megan Freiburger - mfreiburger@lexington1.net

Amber Chavis- achavis@lexington1.net

Ashley Seats - aseats@lexington1.net

Tracey West-twest@lexington1.net


Encore Teachers

Drama - Rachel Cooper - rlcooper@lexington1.net

Orchestra - Jennifer Mann - jmann@lexington1.net

Dance - Megan Viazanko- mviazanko@lexington1.net

Dance - Kara Corley - kccorley@lexington1.net

Band - Melanie Winn- mwinn@lexinton1.net

Art - June Collins - jcollins@lexington1.net

Art - Beth Maddox - bmaddox@lexington1.net

Chorus - Augie Gil- agil@lexington1.net

STEM - Cliff Roberts - cjroberts@lexington1.net

ICIVICS - Melody Shafer - mshafer@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Phillip Thomas - pthomas@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Stephen Harmon - srharmon@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed- Abby Chisholm - achisholm@lexington1.net

PE - Candice Cobb - ccobb@lexington1.net

PE- Ben Anderson- rbanderson@lexington1.net

Chorus - Auggie Gil- agil@lexington1.net

Digital Design - Ryan Panter - rpanter@lexington1.net

Supplemental Math - Ann Bennett - abennett@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Susan Myrick - smyrick@lexington1.net

Math RTI - Trisha Hamilton - thamilton@lexington1.net

ELA RTI - Rayna Kleckley - rkleckley@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Jennifer Williams - jbwilliams@lexington1.net


World Language

Latin - Jessica Stolebarger - jstolebarger@lexington1.net

French - Erin Hamner - ehamner@lexington1.net

French - Cheikh Fall - cfall@lexington1.net

Chinese - Na Zhang - nzhang@lexington1.net

Chinese - Susan Wang - ywang@lexington1.net

Chinese-Natalie Lukity - nlukity@lexington1.net

Spanish - Samantha Simmons - ssimmons@lexington1.net

Spanish - Valentina Salomon msalomon@lexington1.net

6TH GRADE UPCOMING ASSESSMENTS

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT ASSESSMENTS BELOW, PLEASE EMAIL YOUR CHILD'S TEACHER.
ELA: Thursday 9/6 - Formative Assessment on The Lighting Thief Chapters 1-4 and TDQs

Friday 9/7 - STAR360 Reading Assessment


MATH: Wed. 9/5- Formative (Lesson 10.3&10.4)

Fri. 9/7- TEST (Les. 10.1, 10.3, 10.4)


SCIENCE : Thurs. 9/6- Formative- Digital Scavenger Hunt of Types of Energy is due.


SOCIAL STUDIES: No Assessments for next week.


WORLD LANGUAGES: Please click on the following link for the assessments:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1T-gYniUoXeNez_rKDfpl77_AgJ4mZbCYQfz56iXEfQ8

Digital Survey

Meadow Glen Middle School is working with researchers from the Harvard Graduate School of Education as part of a new project on how schools can prepare tweens and teens to navigate digital life. The researchers are also surveying parents to learn more about parents’ views. We hope you’ll consider taking their 12-15-minute survey (which you can complete anonymously!) to share your perspectives with their research team.


Digital Dilemmas Parent Survey

Thank you for sharing your children with us each day!

WE ARE HAVING A FANTASTIC START TO THE 2018-19 SCHOOL YEAR!

6th Grade Field Studies

Big picture
Big picture