Articles of Confederation

13 Articles

Federal Government

The federal government is structured by the Articles of Confederation. This gives us the reason to call ourselves "The United States of America". These articles set up the structure for a government to occur. Each state is granted independence and its freedoms. There is no executive branch though, meaning there is no president.

Problems This Government Faced

From state to state there was different currency used. If you were in one state such as Indiana you couldn't use Ohio's currency to pay for anything.

There was no president to lead the states into the government they had decided on or to help make simple adjustments to make everything work.

Not always did 9 of the 13 states agree upon anything.