OGHS Wellness Corner

Once a Patrio always a Patriot

WELLNESS AT HOME

(Content created by Kristi Birch, LCSW)


Dear Students,


We miss you, and hope you are doing well! Earlier in the week we sent out a newsletter that reviewed some great tools and resources to help you navigate distance learning. As we enter into this new adventure of distance learning, we want to continue to provide support and increase your access to social-emotional learning opportunities. We will continue to send out newsletters on a weekly basis throughout the school closure. Please remember we are here to help and support. Take care and be safe.


Thinking of you!

SUGGESTED ACTIVITIES FOR SELF-CARE

In a time of uncertainty, it's important to remember to slow down and take care of ourselves.


Decrease stress by creating a custom Mandala:


https://colormandala.com/


Engage in a 5-Minute Mindfulness Activity:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R9w7SjHaZmE


Go on a Gratitude Scavenger Hunt:

https://lets-get-together.com/2014/10/18/gratitude-photo-scavenger-hunt/

THERE'S AN APP FOR THAT:

Calm:

Calm is the #1 app for mindfulness and meditation for teens.


Hear and Now:

Hear and Now measures your body stress by taking the pulse in your finger through your phone's camera. You can set daily reminders for deep breathing exercises.


Down Dog/Great Yoga Anywhere:

“So that anyone who wants to practice at home can do so, we are making all of our apps - Down Dog, Yoga for Beginners, HIIT, Barre, and 7 Minute Workout - completely free until April 1st.”

NEED SUPPORT

Crisis Text Line

Text MHA to 741741 and you’ll be connected to a trained Crisis Counselor. Crisis Text Line provides free, text-based support 24/7.


San Diego Access & Crisis Line

(888) 724-7240

7 days a week/24 hrs a day

OGHS Counseling Team

Counseling Team:

Sara Steadry (A-Cl) ssteadry@euhsd.org

Michelle Ferrer Flores (Cm-Gom) mferrerflores@euhsd.org

Tiffany Wilson (Gon-Lup) twilson@euhsd.org

Freddy Delgado (Luq-Pem) fdelgado@euhsd.org

Melissa Allen (Pen-Sanc) mallen@euhsd.org

Ryan Chesire (Sand-Z) rchesire@euhsd.org


School Social Worker

Mayra Gonzalez mgonzalez@euhsd.org

Office Line: (760)291-5000 ext. 5302